is spy sheriff still spyware? (testing in vm)

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by AH786, Mar 23, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. AH786

AH786 Registered Member

Hi im doing a mini project for my course and im testing malware in a virtual machine, so I went to spysheriffs main url and downloaded there program.

I expected it to install loads of files in /windows/system32 and other places.

However it only installed in program files and when I uninstalled it all traces were removed.

whats going on, are spysheriff and other smifraud variants able to detect that theyre being run in a virtual environment?

Or are they not malware any more?

I would install them on a machine if I had one, but I dont have a spare machine available.

So thought id ask the experts!

2. ejames82

ejames82 Registered Member

i am not an expert, but i have witnessed many experts use hijackthis to fix computers on IT sites, and they always remove spy sheriff when it's present.

3. ronjor

ronjor Global Moderator

4. AH786

AH786 Registered Member

yup, thats why I installed spysheriff on purpose.

I need to install viruses on VM machines as part of my project.

However it did not install extra processes or DLL's in system folders.

And I could uninstall it without leaving any traces.

As such I need to know if its still malware.

I would test it myself If I had a spare physical machine or hard disk available but I do not.

5. AH786

AH786 Registered Member

Thanks for the link ronjor.

I see spysheriff is still listed as malware, I want to know if it still installs executables and DLL's in system folders.

Last year I had to deal with this infestation on someones PC, as such I thought it would do the same now.

However in the VM it did not install the extra processes n dlls.

which makes me think is it different now or does it find out its running in a virtual environment and act safely?

6. Perman

Perman Registered Member