Is it possible to restore from this backup

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by philipio, Nov 26, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. philipio

philipio Registered Member

Hi.

First of all, let me tell you I'm new to all this backup stuff.

I had Norton Ghost recommended as a tool for performing the function I want to do. So I lobbed out £40 for it and it will not install on my system - I spent days trying to install it to no avail - it is now for sale on ebay.

I decided to give Acronis True Image Trial a go after reading favourable reviews versus Ghost on Amazon's reviews pages.

Downloaded it, got it set up on the system and hey presto - I was away. I want to write an entire disk image (including OS) with a view to using it to restore back to a bigger hard drive (100gb) I've bought for my laptop. Simple eh ?

Then I discovered its limitations re: backing up directly to DVD.

No problem - rather than install Nero or something else, I set the program to write the backup directly to my c drive and split the archive into DVD sized chunks (4.7gb). The program created 4 .tib files on my desktop which I then burned individually to brand new DVD+RW disks using existing burning software called "Sateira CD&DVD Burner". I also created the ATI Bootable Rescue Media disk on a CDRW using ATI.

So now my question is this. Will the program allow me to restore the archive I have made, given that it is split over 4 individually burned disks ? The reason I have doubts that it will, is simply because of the split. If I had allowed ATI to write directly to DVDs during the archive process, it would have created a single volume over 4 contiguous disks wouldn't it? Is my archive going to be classed as 4 volumes by the program and be problematic ?

2. philipio

philipio Registered Member

Well having had no replies to my initial post (plenty of views though - thanks all), I decided to take matters into my own hands.