iptables help

Discussion in 'all things UNIX' started by bc_helix, Nov 4, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bc_helix

bc_helix Registered Member

I'm trying to setup iptables on my dd-wrt router to accept only VPN traffic and block everything else, including LAN traffic, for a specific host. This is what I have so far but iptables isn't taking my commands which suggests something is wrong about them. I'm pretty new to iptables so these commands probably wouldn't work anyway lol. The host is .101 and the router is .10. The "[CHAIN] [#]" is for where they need to go respective to the other filters.

Code:
    # Accept https traffic for router management.
    iptables -I INPUT 12 -p tcp -s 192.168.1.101 -d 192.168.1.10 --sport 443 -j ACCEPT
    # Accept VPN traffic from .101
    iptables -I INPUT 13 -p udp -s 192.168.1.101 --sport 1192 -j ACCEPT
    # Drop all other data coming from .101
    iptables -I INPUT 14 -p 0 -s 192.168.1.101 -j logdrop

# Block all LAN traffic from reaching .101 (the FORWARD accept for VPN traffic is already in the firewall)
    iptables -I FORWARD 8 -p 0 -s 0.0.0.0/0 -d 192.168.1.101 -j logdrop
    I'd really, REALLY appreciate any help on what I'm doing wrong. I've been wracking my brain trying to understand the madness that is iptables for about a week.

2. Fiat_Lux

Fiat_Lux Registered Member

3. bc_helix

Yeah unfortunately I had already been through two if those links and they don't really describe how to do what I need. The last link is pretty helpful for understanding basic iptables operations from which I learned to write the commands above, but they don't ever really cover how to do what I want. I'm not really trying to pass through the VPN traffic, that works just fine, I'm really just trying to deny access to/from a specific host both LAN/WAN side for anything other than VPN traffic.

4. dan_maran

dan_maran Registered Member