installation now bsod

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by unique, Jul 1, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. unique

unique Registered Member

Hi :)

Newbie here so please be gentle with me ;)

I bought Acronis True Image 9.0 last week from Amazon, tried to install it today on my windows 2k machine and its gone badly badly wrong :'( I dont have a clue what I have done wrong. I cant even get windows to load now!!

I had installed the software and was asked to reboot. I rebooted and went into "emergecy recovery or someting like that. It took 30 gig away from my hdd, asked for another reboot and now all I get is windows BSOD :(

I've tried booting into safe mode and uninstalling but I get a windows error (can't uninstall) tried to uninstall with spybot but that didnt even find it on the system o_O I've tried repairing windows but that doesn't do a thing!!

Can someone please tell me what I can do (if anything) to get my pc back to a working order? Preferably with Acronis off it!!!

I am a complete novice with things so be as gentle as possible and not too techie (if you dont mind :) )

I guess it will teach me to RTFM :blink:

2. simusphere

simusphere Registered Member

Without knowing exactly what you did step by step it will be hard to determine what went wrong. But the really bad news is that you don't have a backup to recover with. This is real uncommon for something like that to happen but your only recourse is to run chkdsk /r from the recovery console of your Windows 2000 disk. I think you may be able to use a Windows XP disk to do this too if you have one. I use the BartPE disk to attempt recoveries such as yours when there is no backup but again you have to have one already for it to be any use to you now.