Inquiry on Freeware Security for Windows 7

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by curious d, Dec 17, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. curious d

curious d Registered Member

Hi. I recently purchased two 64 bit Windows 7 computers for my home. I have been using Windows XP for the past several years and used the following freeware options for my computer security:

AntiVir, SuperantiSpyware, SandboxIE, Comodo Firewall, SpywareBlaster, OpenDNS

This set up was fairly good at keeping my system out of trouble. In the past 6 years, I haven't had too much problems with viruses, malware, or other security threats hitting my system. That being said, I have had problems with performance which I could never prove was a result of security problems.

I have installed AntiVir, SuperAntiSpyware, Comodo Firewall, OpenDNS (at the router level) thus far. These programs (except for OpenDNS) have stated they support 64 bit systems. I looked at SandboxIE and installed it, but I came to understand that it does not offer good protection for 64 bit systems. BufferZone Pro is free now, but again, does not offer 64 bit compatibility.

What is the practical threat for 64 bit system using 32 bit security like SandboxIE or BufferZone? Are there any freeware sandbox programs compatible with 64 bit Windows 7?

I pretty much stay on my usual websites for my surfing habits. I prefer software with minimal intrusion to my activities as the more technical questions produced by HIPS programs are lost on me.

Are there any other programs that I should consider to patch any gapping holes in my set up?

Thanks.

2. fred128

fred128 Registered Member

Sandboxie supports 64 bit systems. The downloaded executable automatically determines if the system is 32 or 64 bit. Because Patchguard prevents Sandboxie from reaching into the kernel, the author has stated that it is not quite as strong for 64 bit but it is still a very effective program.

3. TheKid7