In ''computer dummy'' terms, what is Winpatrol?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by ejr, Feb 15, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ejr

ejr Registered Member

I visited the Winpatrol website but didn't leave feeling like I truly understand what it does. What value does it bring to the table?

I know that there is a free version, but what does that free version do for you?

2. btman

btman Registered Member

You could download the free version and see what features it doesn't let you use lol. Best way to determine to keep a program is to try it.

It does offer a decent amount of protection though...And there are other similar programs around... Mainly people say Arovax Shield... But I have no experience with Win Patrol... So my post ends lol.

3. Get

Get Guest

Read this and you'll know: Winpatrol features

4. Tarq57

Tarq57 Registered Member

I've been using this quite a while, currently using the 2007 Beta. It isn't true resident or realtime, but "patrols" every minute, or 7 minutes, the frequency can be adjusted for each category of protection. It guards against BHO's, Startup changes, IE add-ons, Services, scheduled tasks, and a couple of other areas. Can be set to guard changes to the Hosts file, too. It works. Every time I modify/add a program, within a minute or two afterward, there's an audible woof, and a Winpatrol popup asking if I want to approve a change.
    For a serious infestation, eg a trojan (Done this) it won't prevent the installation, but can seriously limit the damage then done. Or did in my case.
    Give it a try. It's intuitive to use, and quite helpful and informative.

5. Hipgnosis

Hipgnosis Registered Member

Tarq57....WinPatrol 2007 is out of beta now. Current version is 11.1.2007:11.1.2007

6. Pedro

Pedro Registered Member

Something to play with:)
    I miss the dog!

7. Perman

Perman Registered Member