Image of 2 laptops onto the same external USB disk

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by ppis, Aug 26, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ppis

ppis Registered Member

Hi, I am totally new to True Image.

Using the trial version of Acronis True Image 11.0, I made a Secure Zone on my external USB hard disk and made an image of my laptop onto this secure zone.

Now I want to back up a second laptop to the same external USB hard disk. So I installed Acronis True Image 11.0 on the second laptop. My intention is to make a Secure Zone on the same external USB hard disk and to make an image of the second laptop onto this secure zone.

Is this possible? Can I have 2 secure zones on the same external USB disk?

If only 1 secure zone is possible, then does it mean that I must increase the size of the 1st secure zone and make a disk image of the second computer onto the same secure zone? Are there any risk of clash (partition called "C:\" exists on both laptops).

Is there a more common way to make an image of 2 different computers onto the same external USB disk?

Thank you in advance for your guidance.

PS: I need a quick answer as my trial version is about to expire.

2. DwnNdrty

DwnNdrty Registered Member

Since you're new to TI, start off the easier way. Don't use the SZ for the time being. Make the bootable Rescue Media CD, boot with it and make your Backup Images to the external drive from the menu on the CD. The Backups are simply compressed files in True Image format. By not using the SZ, you can treat it like any other file, i.e. copy it, move it, delete it.

And you can save the Images from both laptops to it.

Edit: Small correction ... just saw you're using the Trial version, so the Boot CD will only do Restores ... you have to make the Backups from within Windows.

3. ppis

ppis Registered Member