I'm thinking of install Ubuntu soon to my HDD on my laptop.

Discussion in 'all things UNIX' started by cheater87, Dec 17, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cheater87

cheater87 Registered Member

How can I tell which partition my Windows XP is on and how do I properly burn the ISO onto a disk. I have a ISO burning program I downloaded and was wondering what speed to burn it.

2. stapp

stapp Global Moderator

Cheater I am fairly new to this also.

I use this to burn my .iso files, it is free.

http://www.download.com/Ashampoo-Burning-Studio-Free/3000-2646_4-10776287.html?cdlPid=10903152

It is so user friendly you will like it I am sure. You use the 'Create/burn Disc images' option. It will ask you where the .iso file is on your computer, and then it does everything for you, it even opens the tray for you when it finishes. It sets the burn speed for you also.

Every cd I have done has been bootable as a live cd using this.

Hope this helps you a bit.

3. Mrkvonic

Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

Hi there,

How can you tell?

First, Windows is usually installed on the first partition of the first hard disk.

Second, when you ask for info on your drives / partitions in Linux using either a GUI or a CLI tool, you'll also get info on the filesystem they were formatted with.

Here's an example (see this image):
    http://www.dedoimedo.com/images/computers/partimage-gparted-unmounted.png

Mrk

4. steve161

steve161 Registered Member

Ubuntu will also give you the option to do a guided install, where the size of your windows partition will be reduced to make room for the Ubuntu partition. I've used this option in the past and it is pretty foolproof and straightforward. If you want to have fun playing around with partitioning, see the man above (this post, not God). As far as burning speed, urban legend has it that you should burn it at the slowest possible speed.

5. Arup

Arup Guest