I'm Licensed

Discussion in 'WormGuard' started by Loki, Aug 9, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Loki

    Loki Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2002
    Posts:
    193
    Location:
    Lake Worth, Florida, USA
    Hi,
    I have a licensed copy of W3, the main interface shows licensed to me but when W3 stops something that message says un-licensed version. I run W3 on XP Pro. I know this is not a problem it's just annoying that it shows un-licensed. :rolleyes: Anyone know how to fix it I've re-installed the program but samething. o_O
     
  2. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    Hi Loki, congratulations for being licensed! I read more complaints about this point on XP systems, and they're working on this bug, which fortunately doesn't influence any of the functionallity, nor limits it time but it is annoying, fully agreed.
    When something is known or solved...... Hope soon, or at least in the next upgrade we're getting soon.
    So no need to re-install as you won't lose it.
     
  3. Loki

    Loki Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2002
    Posts:
    193
    Location:
    Lake Worth, Florida, USA
    Hi Jooske,
    Thanks I didn't think there was a way, but it never hurts to ask :). Just waiting for WG4 and TDS4. WG3 work fine in Windows XP it's a nice program. I had it for about a month and nothing ever happened then it popped up and stopped a program. I check it and knew the program was safe and let it run. After that I knew WG3 was there doing its job. Have a great Day :D :D
     
  4. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    Good that it works for you too stopping the nasties.
    Trying to think of some tests except from nasties we get in our emails, which i copy to other areas outside the email to test and scan there and which certainly will be stopped if i would click them....
    At least we can test the test button from the program telling we're protected.
     
  5. Loki

    Loki Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2002
    Posts:
    193
    Location:
    Lake Worth, Florida, USA
    Hi Jooske,
    If you have Windows Me or XP and you want to see W3 stop something for a test then try to do a system restore. W3 will stop it so fast M$ head will spin :D :D :D. Makes a nice test to let you know W3 is working. So anyone who has W3 can try this. I like to see my security programs working. Though I don't want any bad things on my system that's why I've W3 and TDS3. I wouldn't be without W3 or TDS3 for any reason. I'm still learning TDS3 but that's the fun part. :D :D. Have A Great Day. :D :D :D :D :D :D
     
  6. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    Thank you for the tip! I thought of just to save an empty notepad as test.txt.vbs or if you like a line msgbox: "virus.bat" in that and see what happens.
    did not try it, but it could alarm on the suspicious double extension and maybe on a possible executable virusname, although if not it will not fall into such stupid traps :D
     
  7. Tassie_Devils

    Tassie_Devils Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Posts:
    2,514
    Location:
    State Queensland, Australia
    Hello Jooske/Loki

    Loki: if you want to test Wormguard, it's very easy as Jooske says.

    Just open a text editor [notepad, wordpad] then type some crap, anything, then do a save, but don't select .txt as the extension, choose the "Any file [*.*]" option, then simply add any extension that you have in your "Blocked List Editor" like .HTA, .VBE, .VBS [if you have those listed that is], saving to desktop is easiest.

    Then simply double click on the saved file and watch Wormguard leap into action. Also simply saving a file using the "Any File" option and add a double extension.
    eg: "test.jpg.exe" or any combination.

    Sure is a neat way to test it. I have a "test.vbs" on my desktop and check Wormguard every week, just to keep it on its toes, lol.
    Cheers, Taz :D
     
  8. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    Thanks Tassie! great way of testing :)
    I also keep such test files best on my desktop, with a few more to play with :)
     
  9. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Simple test - Send yourself an email with "virus" or "infection" in the text or subject line WG3 will alert you.
    A friend of mine was in Indonesia & emailed me saying that he had a viral infection, WG3 refused to allow it to open until I had previewed / allowed it. :D

    Have fun Pilli.
     
  10. Loki

    Loki Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2002
    Posts:
    193
    Location:
    Lake Worth, Florida, USA
    Hi,

    I haven't tried the Email thing but will soon and thank for the other ways to test wormguard. It's nice when you see your security programs working.

    Have a Great Day Everyone
     
  11. wink

    wink Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Posts:
    52
    Hi ppl,

    I have the same problem with Wormguard, I have just recieved my keyfiles and installed the proggy, on testing it with a VBS file the security worked but as Loki said it say at the bottom of the window its an unlicienced 30day trial :( I know that you have already said its a bug on XP but I am using Win2k.

    Also whenI hit the 'About' button in the wormguard window the dialog box tells me I have WormGuard4 installed ?:( This is confusing to my newbieness with this product, does anybody have any ideas or getting the same results?

    Just to know I am not alone will be a great help :)

    beside that the script protection worked a treat :)
     
  12. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    The bug will be gone in the new version WG-4; it seems they have been working on it and replacing some program parts with WG-4 elements, so you're advanced of us WG-3 users :)
    Sounds all rather confusing, i knew about the "unregistered" bug for XP, hadn't heard it to be that way on W2000 systems too so either those people thought it would be on their system the same, either all w2000 users had it longtime, which i don't expect, as all programs have new users on a daily basis, so suppose the first option.
    If it's differently for sure the DCS team will jump in.
     
  13. Tassie_Devils

    Tassie_Devils Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Posts:
    2,514
    Location:
    State Queensland, Australia
    As Jooske says! :D

    I run Win2K PRO here, about 18 months I think I have had WG, and its fine. I am guessing that if what Jooske says is correct [and I am SURE that would be the case :D never argue with a woman lol], then once WG4 comes out, all will be well in Wormguardland again.
     
  14. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    Not really: poor worms, scripts, hta's, nasty files.... all slipping away to other places if not eliminated before that, but hurray for our systems!

    Wonder how far the nasties writers are with the artificial intelligence: hear the worms screaming to keep out, danger zone on this system!
     
  15. Jason_DiamondCS

    Jason_DiamondCS Former DCS Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Posts:
    1,046
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    Wormguard 4 will fully protect against any worm that can be run, even ones from Email clients. There are some bugs in version 3 which won't be passed onto W4 because its a new rewrite in C++/ASM with a new process interceptor. I will start a new thread soon which hopefully will be a compiled version of features you guys wish to see in Wormguard 4, just small things though that are handy to have, not major additions. So prepare a list if you have any ideas :cool:
    -Jason-
     
  16. Tassie_Devils

    Tassie_Devils Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Posts:
    2,514
    Location:
    State Queensland, Australia
    UH OH! Jason, you have just opened the flood gates mate. Let the waters pour!

    Me, I am already very happy, one teeny weeny request, but will wait till you start the thread. :)
     
  17. brotherfreakshow

    brotherfreakshow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Posts:
    19
    Location:
    Ohio
    I tried the e-mail thing and wormguard never alerted
    me? I put virus.bat.exe as the subject line in an e-mail
    to myself. should it have picked up on this?(also in the
    body of the message)[shadow=red,left,300]TEXT[/shadow]
     
  18. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    How about attaching that email to another email, or make with notepad a test.virus.bat.pif.exe whatever extension you like and whatever content in it, maybe the same name and attach that?
    and the word "infect" just to try it out but really do use HTML format for the emails, see if you get results now?

    BTW: my recent patching of IE 6.0 SP1 does not allow me to see the image you added, only a red X i get, so i don't know what i'm missing.
     
  19. Tassie_Devils

    Tassie_Devils Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Posts:
    2,514
    Location:
    State Queensland, Australia
    Hi brother:
    WG will not alert just because you sent an email with that in the subject line. Words in the subject line are irrelevant [unless you are filtering email with subject line filters, etc]

    You must have an actual file created with those extensions then try to execute that and WG will alert because of the multiple extensions.
    Cheers.
     
  20. beetlejuice

    beetlejuice Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2002
    Posts:
    8,523
    :D I tried an e-mail test on AOL. AOL deleted the attachments with the viruses and trojans. The attachments with the worms got through. However after downloading the attachments, Wormguard wouldn't let me run them. The warning doesn't come when you look at the e-mail or download the attachments. Only when you try to run the files. I'm very happy with it's preformance. :D
    Steve
     
  21. Tassie_Devils

    Tassie_Devils Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Posts:
    2,514
    Location:
    State Queensland, Australia
    Hi beetlejuice. How are ya?

    Glad you like WG and I see you understood WG's role in stopping execution of bad files, etc.

    Have you made more tests:
    eg: multiple extensions
    long spaces [test.jpg .exe]

    And do you have script files in your "Blocked Editor's List"

    VBS, SHA, SHS, .JSE, VBE, HTA etc. that you don't want to run

    Then save a file with those extensions and try and execute them and see the alert.

    and for a bit of fun, Change your alert window.
    see pic.
     

    Attached Files:

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.