I too tried this and could'nt get it to work.

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by voicebox, Jul 10, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. voicebox

voicebox Registered Member

I've never used this type of app before and I was initially quite impressed given that I am always finding new ways to mess up my system.
    I had to do a clean install anyway so it was my intention just to load on XP, all the drivers and the tried and trusted apps (half a days work). Then make an image to go back too (when I eventually mess things up).
    Everything went fine to begin with. I made 2 images one to the secure centre thingy and one to an additional folder just to be on the safe side (both on an internal slave HD (SATA2).
    I felt sure I was sold. When I tested it by restoring the image back to my C drive. Everything seemed perfect. HOWEVER, the problem started when I came to install additional programs. When I rebooted none (or very few) of my shortcuts seemed to work, nothing in my sytem tray either. It even invalidated my firewall licence. It seemed like the XP had forgotten where everything was. The same happened with both images whether I restored with windows or F11

I felt sure I followed the instructions to the letter. What did I do wrong?

A bit dissapointed really (besides the additional half day reinstalling everything). I feel sure I am in the market for something similar to this but don't want to follow the Norton route because they are basically crap! (Single handedly responsible for more clean XP reinstalls than any other developer in the world ever. A Fact)

Anyone with any pointers

2. bodgy

bodgy Registered Member

If after the initial restore all your programs worked satisfactorily, and only after adding new programs did things go awry, I'd suggest it'd be more likely that one of these programs had an install failure (catastrophically by the sounds of it) rather than TI.