I need your opinion!

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by Green Dragon, Feb 18, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Green Dragon

Green Dragon Registered Member

Hi friends!
    At first, sorry for my English. I know it's bad. :(
    I am a novice user in the computer's world. I use an old and slow pc, under WinXp Home edition. I need a good compination of firewall and antivirus. The only restriction i set is, as possible low resources.

Thanks for your understanding! :)

2. BlueZannetti

BlueZannetti Registered Member

Hi Green Dragon and welcome to Wilders!

You're English is fine.

My list of low resource AV's are:For firewall's I'd probably list:I'm not resource limited, so of all the programs that I've listed, NOD32 is the only one I currently run and I do highly recommend it. From what I've seen, all the other options listed do get good reviews from current users. Naturally, until you get a separate firewall application, by all means use XP's ICF.

Blue

3. AnthonyG

AnthonyG Registered Member

If it were me i would suggest Mcafee virus scan enterprise 8 (if you can get your hands on it) ask your college or university if you study at either?.

This has the best!!! scanning abilites for not just viruses but trojans and malware only equaled by kaspersky. It is also the lightest on my machine i have tried several and nothing compare to this light footprint.

The two best firewalls i have tried are outpost and secondly EZ firewall.

Word or advice i had tried Looknstop and it completely messed my system up i had to take the machine in to the computer store to be repaired and a full system recovery had to be done to fix it.

Hope this is some help
    Anthony

4. TeknO

TeknO Registered Member

I suggest to use Kaspersky Antivirus pro 5.0.20 and agnitum outpost pro 2.5.
    McAfee Virusscan Enterprise 8.0i and desktop firewall 8.0 will be better choices for slow computers if you have a chance to use them.

5. BlueZannetti