I installed the latest version of Open Office and it wont open.

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by cheater87, Jun 16, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cheater87
    Offline

    cheater87 Registered Member

    I went to write up a story last night and I noticed and update was avalible. I updated it and the computer became VERY slow. I ran Ccleaner and did a defrag but that did nothing to speed it up. I then restarted and that stopped the slow down. I reinstalled it and it now gets to loading but only goes up 1/5th of the way and stops there.
    Last edited: Jun 16, 2008
  2. Bob D
    Offline

    Bob D Registered Member

    May (or may not) be related:
    I recently DL'd / installed StarOffice's latest patch (update 11).
    Immediately ran into similar problems, with the exception of an error message that I cannot recall.
    A couple patch update uninstalls, reboots and re-installs and all finally is working.
    Note: I notice initial launch of SO8 is rather slow. Subsequent program openings are normal.
  3. cheater87
    Offline

    cheater87 Registered Member

    So keep reinstalling and rebootingo_O
  4. cheater87
    Offline

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Ok I uninstalled AGAIN. Then downloaded it from the site and its STILL stuck athe same spot. Very disappointed in this new version.
  5. n8chavez
    Offline

    n8chavez Registered Member

    This might be somewhat unrelated, but I have had issues with OpenOffice too. Every version has been rather flaky and its dependence on Java is inexcusable. I tried another office suite called Ability Office. They have a new version, in beta, that I like very much.
  6. WSFuser
    Offline

    WSFuser Registered Member

    n8chavez, you can run OpenOffice without Java you know. Only a few features need Java to work.

    BTW cheater, you might want to post at the OpenOffice forums.
  7. n8chavez
    Offline

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Right, but, as you said, it is crippled as a result. It just seems very slugish to me and seems to have become very bloated; version requires 325 meg whereas MS Office 2003 Pro requires only 120 meg.
  8. NGRhodes
    Offline

    NGRhodes Registered Member

    And why is that a problem ?
  9. n8chavez
    Offline

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Because an office shuold shouldn't rely on Java for even somne of its features. And since when did it becaome ok to have an office suite that takes nearly a minute to launch? And yes, that is after OOO tweaks.
  10. n8chavez
    Offline

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Those of you that use OpenOffice might want to consider this fork in the project. From what others have told me it is very good. But be warned that in represent the 2.4 line, not 3.0.
    Last edited: Jun 16, 2008
  11. NGRhodes
    Offline

    NGRhodes Registered Member

    Why not (im not disagreeing, just trying to work out if there is any real need for Java or not)?

    Latest version (with the Java stuff on) loads quicker on both my old p3 800 (writer takes 20 seconds after a reboot) and my core 2 duo laptop than MS office does...
    Last edited: Jun 16, 2008
  12. steve161
    Offline

    steve161 Registered Member

    I have disabled java from the tools menu and have noticed no difference in functionality. Although I really only use writer. with my own saved docs as a format. Although the link is for 2.0, it does shed some info on OO's use of java.






    http://wiki.services.openoffice.org/wiki/Java_and_OpenOffice.org
  13. Mrkvonic
    Offline

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    A minute? You have a serious problem with your machine.
    On my comps, OO apps launch within 5-6 seconds tops. Never had problems with OO ... but then I'm not using 54 security apps or tweak the system into oblivion ... just food for thought ... or thought for food.
    Mrk
  14. n8chavez
    Offline

    n8chavez Registered Member

    It takes around 45 seconds to lauch. Version 3 beta takes even longer than 2.4. Launching issues seems to be limited to OOO. Everything else I use is really quick quickl I use minimal system resources for resident applications. Anyone that has been here long enough can verify that. :D
  15. aigle
    Offline

    aigle Registered Member

    OO for sure takes much longer to launch than MS Office especially on first launch after system reboot and if the speed loader tray application is not running.

    I can,t believe that it loads faster than MS Office. I wish that they improve its speed.
  16. Mrkvonic
    Offline

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Hello,

    I honestly don't know what you're doing with your systems...

    I admit MS Office takes a few seconds less to load, then again, I'm running Office XP and none of the newer ones. But OO is just a few seconds behind, no more than 1-2 seconds. All in all, a completely unimportant factor for an office utility.

    Mrk
  17. Arup
    Offline

    Arup Guest

    Go OO launches faster than regular OO. However OO is not that slow compared to MS Office specially when quick launch is enabled. I have latest MS Office as well as OO on two quad core PCs, one with 4 and one with 8GB of RAM and I don't see any significant difference.
  18. aigle
    Offline

    aigle Registered Member

    May be it,s becoz of Quadcore.

    I always remove the quick launch tray application though.
  19. Mrkvonic
    Offline

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Hello,

    I got a single core Athlon 3700+ 2GB RAM and I don't get any serious difference in the loading of the two. So it has little to do with cores.

    Correct me if I'm wrong, I know Arup runs a light security setup - and so do I. Maybe it has to do with not enslaving your processes to futile tasks?

    Mrk
  20. Pedro
    Offline

    Pedro Registered Member

    I think both MS Office and OpenOffice are hogs, but it's only a personal opinion.

    The speed difference between them is really small.
  21. aigle
    Offline

    aigle Registered Member

    Actually my experience is not only with my PC but also with some other PCs which have a single security software like an AV.

    May be I will later re-check it even in a clean snapshot with no security application.
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2008
  22. lodore
    Offline

    lodore Registered Member

    loads around 3 seconds first lanch and less than 1 second second lanch.
    this is without speedlancher.
    running vista home premium sp1
    this is with the following running,kis2009 active,opera with 20 or so tabs,itunes,windows live messenger,jkdefrag and finaly process explorer.

    open office used to take ages to load but seems to be fine now.
    if i had £50 lieing around and dont mind wasting 2gb of hard drive space i would use ms office 2007.
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2008
  23. emperordarius
    Offline

    emperordarius Registered Member

    Open office apps have always taken more to open than MS Office apps for me, even with that speed launcher thing...
  24. Arup
    Offline

    Arup Guest


    You are so correct, in XP I use only LUA and AVIRA only. However truth be told OO launches way faster on my x64 Ubuntu but I am on the beta x64 OO version.
  25. aigle
    Offline

    aigle Registered Member

    Ok, I tied it in a plain snapshot and it is fast but I have no MS Office, so can,t compare but I guess it may stll be slower to launch than MS Office.

    Anyway during all this, TF has gone from my system and system seems a bit brisk now.
    Last edited: Jun 18, 2008
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.