I have a Virus!

Discussion in 'malware problems & news' started by whitedragon551, Aug 14, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. whitedragon551

whitedragon551 Registered Member

Ok I have Comodo Firewall and Avira Antivir Premium. I also have MBAM and Spyware Blaster. Somehow I got a virus or something. My Paypal account was hacked into and someone tried to send themselves $208 to some company named Moniker. Today my Facebook was activated and its been deactivated for over 6 months.

Ive completely whipped my wifes laptop HD. Hers doesnt have as much as mine does. Now I have completely scanned my HD with Avira and MBAM and made sure Spyware Blaster was up to date and nothing was found. I also checked Comodo and there are no unrecognized programs in the list of exceptions.

Anything else I can do to make sure nothing is here?

2. Fly

Fly Registered Member

You didn't find a piece of malware on either computer ?
    I'm no expert. But I suppose identity theft (which seems to be the case) is possible without any infection(s) on your computer.
    I'm certainly no expert about identity theft, so I can't give you better advice than to take this very seriously, and that more issues may come up.
    Change passwords, keep an eye on your credit card statements etc.

If you are concerned that some malware still resides on your two computers, the safest thing is to just reformat, or better, use something like DBAN first.
    If you have a known clean image, good, install that afterwards. Keep an eye on stuff that may be hidden in partitions and bad sectors, but usually removing the partitions will work.
    If you don't want to go that far, you can try Avira boot CD, Dr Web live CD, you can try VIPRE or Counterspy (VIPRE may clash with your AV) and some others. I understand PrevX is free for scanning, but malware removal is paid.