I can't get online

Discussion in 'malware problems & news' started by tenmaz, Oct 20, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tenmaz

tenmaz Registered Member

This is my 1st post and I hope I can get some advice ( I am basically a beginner). I cannot open control panel, my computer, my documents, etc or internet explorer to go online. The problem is on a laptop which was using limewire and others. What is the procedure to detect and remove any virus or spyware that is causing this problem. Any specific recomendations will be appreciated. thanks

Last edited by a moderator: Oct 20, 2006
  2. snowbound

snowbound Retired Moderator

Hello,

Are there any error messages when trying to open control panel or the others u mentioned?

Are u running any security apps?

snowbound

3. tenmaz

tenmaz Registered Member

I had tried to reply sooner but dont know what happened. any how. There were no error messages. The desktop icons would disappear and reappear after 2-3 seconds. I may have fixed it for now. I ran msconfig, disabled some programs including "system protect" (unkown program), rebooted, then could access control panel and removed several programs including "system protect". I then connected to the internet and warnings popped up re malware and offered all kinds of downloads. I disconnected not knowing what to do and which protection to use. Any advice will be appreciated.

4. Get

Get Guest

5. tenmaz

tenmaz Registered Member

Thanks for the advice. I looked at his site and will follow up with the laptop in ?. When I do, should I close all MS and windows warnings and downloads being offered for malware and virus protection? And then go to spywareinfo, or load spybot 1st which I have on another computer.

6. Get

Get Guest