How to use ShadowProtect + Returnil as a replacement for an Antivirus

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by Paul Keith, Nov 23, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Paul Keith

Paul Keith Registered Member

Hi, I asked about the topic here because someone recommended the combination but I've never used these programs before and don't know how to switch to these.

http://www.donationcoder.com/Forums/bb/index.php?topic=15779.0

I'm thinking with the new wave of viruses that can't be detected, I might as well replace my anti-spyware and antivirus scanners for these in combination with a HIPS.

Does anyone also have any recommendation for what to look for in a great HIPS?

2. Paul Keith

Anyone?

Topic too stupid to answer?
    Not worth your time?
    Newb must post x times to get replies for advanced stuff?
    Google it Mother****er?
    Read the ****ing Search button?

3. jmonge

jmonge Registered Member

dont need both to replace your antivirus,just choose one of the 2 and you will just be fine without and antivirus:D

4. Paul Keith

Thanks. Could you provide some more details though? First time I'm going to use these kinds of programs.

Casual user knowledge to security and from what I understand, they're like much more advanced versions of System Restore, Erunt and Sandboxie that utilizes virtualization stuff which allows for a direct safe copy of your PC as long as you don't mind restarting? Is this correct?

I'm just a bit skeptical because I'm so used to scanners like antiviruses and I'm not seeing many threads converting to these programs so I wanted to know more details.

5. Peter2150

Peter2150 Global Moderator

Paul, I don't have time tonight, but tomorrow I'll try to give you my take on what you are asking.

Pete

6. Peter2150

PS. How many disk drives in your machine.

7. Paul Keith

2 and thanks.

8. Osaban

Osaban Registered Member