How to Update ClamTK

Discussion in 'all things UNIX' started by TerryWood, Mar 22, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TerryWood

TerryWood Registered Member

Hi

I am learning Linux via Linux Mint 64bit on an HP Pavilion Slimline 64bit PC.

I have installed ClamAV and ClamTK from the Synaptic package Manager, but the ClamTK interface shows the virus engine to be out of date and by research there is a newer version of ClamTK (the GUI) available.

Questions

1) How do I update the virus engine?

2) I downloaded the latest version of ClamTK in Tar.gz format and extracted it to my desktop. How do I install it over the current version?

Remember I am a novice and need handholding.

ps this is not about whether Mint needs an antivirus or not, its about me learning how to use the Linux interface from people more knowledgeable than me.

Thanks

Terry

2. Ocky

Ocky Registered Member

1) Try the Help menu.
    2) Have a look here

PS. BitDefender is better and much faster.

3. TerryWood

Hi Ocky

Thanks for your reply

1) Tried the help menu in Clamtk a) it updated the virus definitions b) it told me what I already know. (That there is a newer version of GUI) Crucially it does not update the GUI

2) a) installed build-essential package from synaptics package manager

b) Extracted source package contents to Desktop

c) followed all your instructions (I believe)

d) No Joy

e) Screenshot attached

Any further help welcome

Thanks
    Terry

Attached Files:

4. mack_guy911

mack_guy911 Registered Member

5. mack_guy911

for updating clam av

you need

[TerryWood@localhost ~]$

[TerryWood@localhost ~]$ cd /

then you get

[TerryWood@localhost /]$

then

[TerryWood@localhost /]$ cd/etc/clamav

[TerryWood@localhost clamav] $ sudo freshclam

to scan

same till

[TerryWood@localhost clamav] $ clam -r

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/ClamAV

i am taking your user name as terry woods here in example

Last edited: Mar 22, 2011
  6. TerryWood

Hi Mack Guy