How to setup firewall?

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by southcat, Jan 25, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. southcat

southcat Registered Member

Hello everybody. :)

I am using ZoneAlarm Pro 5.5 right now and i haven't try other firewall software before. After study in wilders, I know that there are 2 types of firewall :
    i) Application-based
    ii) Rules-based

and i also learn that ZoneAlarm is application-based but rules-based firewall is better and complicated. However, if i want to learn about how to setup a rules-based firewall. **Where can i get the information and knowledges o_O

1) Kerio
    2) Sygate
    3) Look 'n' stop
    4) Tiny
    5) Outpost
    6) Norton Personal firewall

Can anyone tell me that which one is the rules-based firewall ? So i can choose to learn.

Thank you. :)

**I am a novice, have to start from basic**

2. ronjor

ronjor Global Moderator

3. Paranoid2000

Paranoid2000 Registered Member

Most rules-based firewalls will have a default configuration that you can start with (some will create one as part of their installation procedure). Most such configurations will allow more than may be necessary though, just to cover everybody's usage patterns (e.g. if you use Firefox/Opera for web browsing, the default setup will almost surely allow Internet Explorer access also, even though you may not need it). So spending time tailoring this default is always a good idea.

For Look'n'Stop, there is a separate forum here which should offer more information (look for Phant0m's ruleset). For Kerio 2.15, check out BlitzenZeus' BZ Kerio 2x Default Replacement Update thread (scroll to the bottom for the latest updates) - I do not think there is an equivalent for the current Kerio 4.x however.