how to set outpost firewall rules with router as it connected through LAN

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by mack_guy911, Sep 9, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mack_guy911

mack_guy911 Registered Member

how to set outpost firewall rules with router as it connected through autodetect LAN in outpost so how to configure security setting for lan port of router ..........and its showing open ports in grc.com
    how to configure them to stealth mode and how to enable netgear wpn834 firewall please need help .....

i am new to router......

2. wat0114

wat0114 Guest

From Outpost Options->System->LAN Settings->Settings, there should be an ip address under: "Host or subnet address" maybe 192.168.xxx.xxx. Make sure you clear the "NetBIOS" and "Trusted" checkboxes. That should be all there is to it.

As for the open ports, those are probably your router's. Which ports are showing open?

3. mack_guy911

thanks wat0114 i set that what i want to know is its showing some open ports when scan with grc.com
    how can i close them and
    2nd how i set global rule and applactions rules accourding to router as now i am connectiong through router not through direct dial up connection.... what changes need for setting regarding that

4. mack_guy911

what i wanted to know is how to setup nat
    and what is port forwarding, port triggering how to set them on router......

5. wat0114

wat0114 Guest

Just some info from you first:

What is the make/model of router you have?

You need to know the ip address that is being scanned. It should be displayed on the GRC scan page. Then, you need to know the ip address that is assigned by your ISP to you router's WAN port. Is your router's ip address the same as the one being scanned? This is the port that should have a patch cable in it connecting to your modem's ethernet port.