How to Safe Test TI7?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by MetalGuru, Nov 30, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MetalGuru

MetalGuru Registered Member

I've just reinstalled windows xp on a clean partition, and wish to make an drive image so I don't have to go through all that instaling and updating again. I want to create another image when I install correctly all my crucial programs. That's all.

However, this is my first time, and researching drive imaging I found Acronis had the best reviews. I also found the free promotional copy of TI7. I'm not too sure how it compares to the latest release, but I'm sure that as a beginner, it will have what I need.

But what's holding me back from trying it out is the horror reviews I came across (mostly at CNET) that say it can erase or corrupt other partitions in your system. Something about messing up your MBR was one of the popular complaints. If I were to corrupt the new xp installtion, I can live with that (and fix it).... but why should it bother other partitions if I don't ask it too?

Now I have 2 drives, each with 2 partitions. The first, C, I have just reformatted and has only the clean windows XP install on it. The rest have very important data on them. Unfortunately, they are too many gigs to back up at the moment (~100gb). No free space, and I'm not buying another HDD just this moment.

So can anyone advise me as to the safest way to create a drive image and restore (if needed) without any risk of destroying all my data on my other drives?

I'm also considering Paragon's Drive Copy/Imaging Solution, and O&O's new DiskImage, but unfortunately, I've found too few reviews on them. And due to my experience with Norton, I highly doubt Ghost is an option.

Thanks.
    MG

2. Unit01

Unit01 Registered Member

Depending on what you've got available to you...