How to properly test malware

Discussion in 'other security issues & news' started by Mrkvonic, Jul 5, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Mrkvonic

Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

Hello,

Here's an idea I have stated already in one of my other posts, now elaborated in detail. If anyone wishes to follow this through, they are more than welcome.

How can one really ascertain the effectiveness of an anti-X program?

Three setup machines, identical hardware + software, three different users. The machines should include relatively simple and standard setups, like Windows with updates from the last month, but not the latest ones, a two-way firewall, but nothing too complicated etc.

User 1 - total noob, user 2 - somewhat experienced, in the know, user 3 - very experienced

For a period of two weeks, three hours daily, the three guinea piglets will enjoy the Internet in the following manner:

- They will follow about a 100 links in a variety of browsers and email clients, some of which will link to real malware sites, but also benign and test sites.
    - They will be required to download at least 10 programs on their own and install them, using their own skill to find the downloads and properly configure them, including tricky ones like codecs, java, flash, screensavers.
    - They will have to use email, send and receive emails and interact with attachments and links.
    - They will have to P2P.
    - They will need to IM and chat and follow links.
    - They will have to download a crack for some program.
    - They will do some of their regular stuff.

All machines will be hooked up with registry, file, disk, and network analyzers.
    Image snapshots before and after the experiment will be compared.
    System errors and failures during the usage and such will be logged.
    The user will be interviewed regarding their experience with the program daily.