How to place the partition containing the OS & Progs for high drive seek performance?

Discussion in 'Acronis Disk Director Suite' started by TKHgva, Mar 21, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TKHgva

TKHgva Registered Member

Hello,

I have been educating myself on the "internals" of the HD to get a better understanding. Also, to understand how creating partitions can become a handy tool for space management, performance / seek time and backup facility. I'm not using Disk Director Suite quite yet (it's on it's way in the mail from overseas), but I wished to get some points understood for when I start to work with it.

I've mostly been learning through Wiki, a few articles here and there and this website (Partition.Radified) which has been very useful. As I am a novice, it helps a great deal when the IT/Tech experts explain concepts and systems with images/pictures; so I recommend this website for those who need a "boost" in understanding the HD.

Ok, for my questions:

1. When we have a HD, and we wish to create a partition on it for the OS/Programs using Disk Director, where on the HD will Acronis create the partition, if it's the first patition we have ever created on the HD?
    I'm not sure if the term for the process enabling to create partitions at a specific place on the HD is called "benchmarking". If "benchmarking" is the approriate term, does Acronis enable this function/feature?

2. When we continue to add/create partitions, do they "move" about on the HD or do they stay "in place"? Like if I created the partition for my OS/ Progms using Acronis, will that partition stay in place or does it eventually move along the HD?