How to get rid of unneeded partition 0.

Discussion in 'Acronis Disk Director Suite' started by cutie_pyie, Nov 16, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cutie_pyie

cutie_pyie Registered Member

Hi all,

I am fairly new to this partitioning so please bear with me.

I have an Emachines PC that I got secondhand, it has 2 partitions on it.
    The first one is a system recovery partion that I want to delete so I can have its space back, it is formatted as Fat32.
    The 2nd partition is the "C" partition, formatted as NTFS.
    The boot.ini file has it booting from partition (1), which I guess is the "C" partitiono_O?

Can I use True Image Disk Director (10.0.2160) to delete the first "recovery" partition and then give its space to the "C" partition?

Cud someone please explain the steps to me?

When I delete the 1st partition, do I have to make any changes to the boot.ini file and change the value to (0)??

Thanks a bunch!

Cindy

PS: Off topic but how can I change time shown in clock from military (24 HR) time to regular time? If I open the clock icon to full clock it show okay, but when just show time - it is in 24 HR mode??

Last edited: Nov 16, 2008
  2. atin90

atin90 Registered Member

It is perfectly fine to do what you say you want to do. Even that you delete the partition 0, the partition 1 that contains your OS will stay 1.

I have actually posted a thread just couple of weeks ago talking about the difficulty in changing the partition numbers because there is almost no commercially available partitioning programs out there let you do this. Probably because it would create whole lot's of problems.

3. dwalby

dwalby Registered Member

1. Use an imaging tool or similar to save the recovery partition contents, you may want to use it later sometime. Also image the C partition while you're at it just in case something goes wrong.