How to add GRUB?

Discussion in 'all things UNIX' started by AlexC, Apr 18, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. AlexC

    AlexC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Posts:
    1,276
    I've just installed Kubuntu, now i added other HD with Windows and i need GRUB to be able to select between the two O.S. What's the easiest to do it? thanks!
     
  2. wilbertnl

    wilbertnl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Posts:
    1,850
    Location:
    Tulsa, Oklahoma
    sudo update-grub (or perhaps sudo update-grub2)
     
  3. AlexC

    AlexC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Posts:
    1,276
    Already done, i used grub4dos from Puppy Linux.

    Anyway, thanks for answering wilbertnl :thumb:
     
  4. mack_guy911

    mack_guy911 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Posts:
    2,677
    sorry for delay post

    as you already done it so now backup your (ie copy paste) your /boot/grub/grub.cfg

    grub.cfg file i mean

    https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Grub2

    also second help is install Boot-Repair it give you gui way see above one also many others way like you did from one :))
     
  5. mack_guy911

    mack_guy911 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Posts:
    2,677
  6. AlexC

    AlexC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Posts:
    1,276
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.