How do i find out "a trojan´s specific purpose"?

Discussion in 'malware problems & news' started by Aeronautic1024, Jul 17, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Aeronautic1024

Aeronautic1024 Registered Member

I "recieved" the trojan "SWF/Exploit.CVE-2007-0071 trojan" by a service provider for a specific service (outsourced) by my employer. The trojan was discovered by NOD32. The reason why i want to find out what the "purpose is of the actual trojan", is that there is some "legal issues/disputes" between Me and my employer. I have good reason to assume it was planted there on purpose by my employer....... Can anyone help me to find out what the actual trojan is doing?

I appreciate all answers, it is really annoying not knowing.

I might add that i have no previous experience of trojans.

Last edited: Jul 17, 2008
  2. HURST

HURST Registered Member

Hi and welcome to wilders.
    Just by looking at that name I can´t tell. If you have a sample (e.g. the actual trojan), you could upload it to virustotal (different AV vendors give different names to malware, and maybe you could get a more descriptive name).
    Or you can upload it to online sanboxes to see what it does.
    I'll look into it anyways.

3. HURST

HURST Registered Member

I don´t think it was "planted" by your employer. It seems that it's just an exploit for a flash vulnerability.

~VirusTotal link removed per Policy. - Ron~

Last edited by a moderator: Jul 17, 2008
  4. HURST

HURST Registered Member

Quoted and translated from http://www.enciclopediavirus.com/virus/vervirus.php?id=4276 (in spanish)

5. Aeronautic1024

First of all, I´m new to this..... How do i upload the file?