How do I clone my entire hd ?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by carioca, May 12, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. carioca

carioca Registered Member

o_O
    Dear Forum companions/ Support Team,
    I am an acronis novice and I don't know how to copy my entire hd for future restorations. How do I clone my entire hd to a cd media ? Should I clone the hd to cd or dvd media? Could you let me know an easy step by step guide (not a manual)? I am confused how to make a windows xp restoration copy for eventual set up.I would appreciate If someone can help me out. I was almost giving up to go to the Norton Ghost 10.0 because I couldn't sucessfully clone my entire hd. Best Regards.

2. DwnNdrty

DwnNdrty Registered Member

Let's get the terminology straight as far as it applies to Acronis True Image.

Clone and Image (Acronis actually calls this Backup) are two distinct animals. A Clone is an identical copy i.e. if the original is bootable, the clone is also immediately bootable and will wipe out everything else on the destination drive.

A Backup is a compressed Image of the original and has to go through the Recovery process before it becomes bootable like the original. You can store an Image on another drive just like any other file and the process does not wipe the destination drive.

With that said, it is not advisable to backup directly to optical media if the size of the image requires four or more discs. In addition to the process being slow compared to using another hard drive, if you ever have to restore from those discs, the recovery process will have you swapping those discs in and out like there's no tomorrow. :) With the image spanned across 3 discs there is still swapping involved, but at least it is tolerable.

You'll save yourself a lot of future grief if you invest in a second hard drive, external or internal, and save your Backups to it.