How can I find the CLSID?

Discussion in 'SpywareBlaster & Other Forum' started by billhunter, Jun 3, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. billhunter

billhunter Registered Member

hi, I am a newbie of this. How can I find out the CLSID if I don't know? I want to block some Chinese website which contains lots of rubish but I didn't find out the way to get the CLSID. Thanks in advance.

2. Bubba

Bubba Updates Team

Hey bill,

Perhaps I'm not understanding but knowing the CLSID will not block a site. If your wanting to restrict what a site can do when you browse to that site add that site to IE's Restricted Zone.

3. dak

dak Registered Member

Bubba's right that a CLSID won't allow you to block a website. In addition to Bubba's suggestion of placing the website in IE's restricted zone, you can block the website by adding it to a HOSTS file, DNSKong, Proxomiton, E-Dexters' PAC file or similar programs. Neither IE's restricted zone nor the HOSTS file require third party software.

The CLSID will allow you block the Active-X component the website may be trying to install on your system by setting the kill bit for it. Other than editing the registry manually yourself, this will require third party software, such as SpywareBlaster.

Basically, to find the CLSID you have to search the source code of the website and find its OBJECT tags. But just because you find OBJECT tags and CLSID value(s) in the source code it doesn't necessarily mean they are the "bad" ones, there are other factors to consider.

--
    dak

4. billhunter

Thank you both for your advice. maybe I didn't make me understood. Because sometimes I will browse some websites contain the IE plug-in which I hate. For fodbidden IE to install it or even prompt me to install it, I have to get the CLSID of the plug-in. My question is if I don't unknow and don't download the plugin, how can I find out the CLSID of it? I mean I want to design a program to forbidden the unknown plugin automaticly.