How bad is it?

Discussion in 'Trojan Defence Suite' started by msingle, Jan 30, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. msingle

msingle Registered Member

I've heard great things about TDS3. My only concerns are, that since I'm new to the whole AT idea, that it will be to hard to set up properly (and we know if security tools aren't set up properly they do little good) and the resource hit that everyone talks about.

The resources is the biggest concern as I'm running Windows 2000 with 128 MB RAM on a PII 400 MHz with NAV and ZA free running all the time.

Opinions?
    Thanks.

2. Pilli

Pilli Registered Member

Hi msingle, TDS3 is an "on demand" scanner when you do a full scan using TDS3 it does use considerable CPU time but scans can be as simple as right clicking on a downloaded file, this are completed in the blink of an eye. Scans can be by directory or more or less what you require.

TDS3 has one element that can be installed to run all the time this is called "execution protection" basically what it does is look at each file as it is called to check for Trojanic behaviour, again this does have a VERY small impact on resource.

In it's as installed state i.e. basic configuration TDS3 will give excellent Trojan protection & the configuartion to add more protection is usually just ticking a few boxes - the help file is considrerable with the added bonus of this & the private TDS3 operators forum, most people feel at home in a very short while :D

As a bonus there are many other useful utilities & plugins which you can learn about & use whilst knowing that you have the best Trojan protection available.

Try it !

3. the Tester

the Tester Registered Member