Homepage Hijacker problem, VERY TRICKY!

Discussion in 'adware, spyware & hijack cleaning' started by zacktech, May 12, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. zacktech

zacktech Registered Member

Hi all, this is a common problem I'm sure, so if you would just point me to the proper thread that would be nice, otherwise, let's figure this one out.
    BTW, I consider myself very tech savvy (I'm a technician by trade), so no need to make long explanations for me.

Here's the deal. The other day I got hijacked by something. Many many trips to security forums all over have pointed my problem to CWS, but it goes deeper than that.
    I was using AVG antivirus then, and have since moved to NOD32, and now to the latest version of Panda Titanium (great AV :D )
    This problem is very similar to what others have been going through. HJT reports a bunch of DLLs in the System32 folder, but when you remove them, they come back later. My current DLL name is hdj.dll, but others across various forums have been the same, only with random DLL names.
    I can remove the DLL easy enough, but it comes back, which suggests that it's in memory, but where?
    The other end of it is this, the homepage keeps getting set to about:blank, which redirects to a search page. I can remove enough stuff with CWShredder, HJT, and registry editing to get rid of it, but it will come back.

Here is the twist, now that I have Panda on here, at least once a day it will pop up saying it neutralized a virus called "Trj/Startpage.DI" and the file name is the same random DLL that HJT finds. Only HJT reports the DLL as "obfuscated" or "deleted" (when I check it after Panda removes it).

This leads me to think that this particular problem may still be CWS, but I'm leaning more towards the virus Startpage.DI. But how does it keep getting back in here??