"Homepage" - AdAware False Positive or Real Threat?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Dazed_and_Confused, Jul 3, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Dazed_and_Confused

    Dazed_and_Confused Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Posts:
    1,831
    Location:
    USA
    A week or so ago AdAware flagged the following item as a vunerability. The vendor is WINDOWS. Does anyone know if this is this a false positive? I've had it quarantined and have not seen any system problems.

    Vendor:Windows
    Category:Vulnerability
    Object Type:RegData
    Size:-
    Location:Software\Policies\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Control Panel "Homepage" ()
    Last Activity:7/3/2004
    Risk LevelLow
    Comment:Windows
    Description:No Detail Information Available.
     
  2. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    53,190
    Location:
    Texas

    Hi Daisey!

    This hasn't come up in my Ad-aware. Did you try their forums?


    http://www.lavasoftsupport.com/
     
  3. Dazed_and_Confused

    Dazed_and_Confused Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Posts:
    1,831
    Location:
    USA
    No, but I will. I thought I would try my favorite, and the best forum, first! :D
     
  4. snowbound

    snowbound Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Posts:
    8,723
    Location:
    The Big Smoke
    It has on mine, and it is on my ignore list. ;)

    It showed up after i checked off some settings in the IE Tweaks options in Spybot.

    IMHO, nothing to worry about.


    snowbound
     
  5. Dazed_and_Confused

    Dazed_and_Confused Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Posts:
    1,831
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks a bunch, Snowy. :D I am using S&D too, and it's probably the same issue here. I guess I need to take it out of quarintine and put it on my ignore list.
     
  6. snowbound

    snowbound Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Posts:
    8,723
    Location:
    The Big Smoke
    If u want to be sure Daisey, just look in your Spybot>Tools>IE Tweaks and see if u have Lock IE start page or Lock IE Control Panel checked.

    If u do, like me, this is what is causing it.

    U can test it by unchecking them and doing another scan with Ad-aware and that vulnerability shouldn't show up.


    snowbound
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.