Home 2009 Suddenly Reboots on Mount After Installing Echo Workstation on Same Machine

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Marpost, Apr 30, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Marpost

Marpost Registered Member

This question takes a while to explain, but isn't actually that complex a question. I really appreciate you taking the time to read it and help.

I've been using True Image Home 2009 for several months so I have many images made using it. But I wanted to be able to use Universal Restore so I just bought True Image Echo Workstation. Since I may need to access both older images made with Home 2009 and newer ones made with Echo Workstation, I need both of them on my computer.

When I first got Echo Workstation in trial form, I installed it. During the install, it recognized a few files that were apparently already installed by Home 2009. It asked whether to overwrite them and I chose no. Once I had it installed, I made an image with it and then played around with the older and newer images. I found that the built in explorer had been changed over to Echo Workstation, so I could no longer just click on old images and view them. To do that I would have to actually open Home 2009 and mount the image. This is fine since I assume that it will be rarer that I'll be using the older images, so I don't mind opening up Home 2009 and mounting them when I need to, though it is obviously a bit less convenient than when I could just click on them. But the newer image worked just clicking on it.

I was also able to mount both older and newer images in Home 2009 and mount the new image in Echo Workstation.

So all was well.