Holy cow! Why is it so hard to overwrite files?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by tonkin, Mar 16, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tonkin

tonkin Registered Member

Beyond frustrated.

I've waited for over a year thinking that Acronis would make some improvements with TI10 Home to make it easy to overwrite the previous day's differential files. Not everyone wants to fill their hard drive up with dozens of differential files. But nooooo, there is still no "Overwrite File" button using the Wizard. I just want one differential file. I don't want to have to delete files everyday. Is that too much to ask?
    Come on already, this is supposed to be a "Home" version!

I'm not a programmer and don't want to be. Batch files? What the heck is that? Just gimme a button to select; it's a "Home" version after all. What's the point of a "Wizard" other than to make things easier?

It shouldn't have to be this way.

2. thomasjk

thomasjk Registered Member

Instead of differentials just make a complete image of drive every time with the same file name. Differentials are useless by themselves and only represent what has changed since the last time.That's what I do each night with a scheduled backup in TI9 B3677.

3. tonkin

tonkin Registered Member

Well, shoot, I can do a full back-up everyday with the free software I got with my hard drive.

I could have saved myself money and not even bothered with True Image, but I would rather do a differential back-up to save time backing up. A full back-up can take hours and hours... and hours.

Why is it so hard to just have a full back-up file and one differential file that matches up with the full file and then each day have a new differential file overwrite the old? It shouldn't be that tough to do. But it is.

4. ErikAlbert

ErikAlbert Registered Member