Help with HOSTS file

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by JRCATES, Jun 14, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JRCATES

JRCATES Registered Member

Sorry for sounding like an idiot to the more knowledgeable people in these forums, but I am thoroughly confused with what for many, will be a trivial concern. I "believe" that I have correctly and successfully added the MVPS HOSTS file. I downloaded the file, but it is one of those that use "zip" technology. I'm relatively new with PCs, and I have never had any occasion to use a ZIP program before. Knowing that I'd run into it sooner or later, I downloaded ZipGenius just last week. Well, apparently I already have a problem.

During download, I saved the MVPS HOSTS to my desktop......because I read that you can "copy and paste" the folder to the desired location (C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\DRIVERS\ETC). I then renamed the already existing HOSTS file as HOSTS.old, and placed the newly created HOSTS file in the above mentioned location.

Now here's the part I don't understand. If I double click to open ZipGenius, the HOSTS file is still located there. I believe it is in "archive", but until I hear from someone that it is safe to "delete" it from there, I'm being tentative. Also, ZipGenius has created a SEPERATE icon on my desktop.....called HOSTS (using the ZipGenius icon entitled "ZIP"). So I have TWO HOSTS file icons on my desktop....the one I copied and pasted to the desired path, and the one that ZipGenius created (HOSTS.zip, ZipGenius File, Size: 60.89 KB, C:\Documents and Settings\.....\Desktop)