'HELP' Problem with Macrium Reflect free version

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by SpeedyPC, May 18, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. SpeedyPC

SpeedyPC Registered Member

G'day all,

I a friend of mind got a major problem with Macrium Reflect free version backup software when he plug his usb WD My Passport Essential 500 GB the Macrium Reflect can read the usb drive from normal start up in W7, he created a Linux Rescue CD first before he start his complete backup directly to his usb WD My Passport everything when find. 6 months later when he inserted his usb WD My Passport into his PC and add the Linux Rescue CD into his DVD bootable drive, suddenly when he boot into Linux Rescue CD his usb WD My Passport was not recognisable cannot read his usb from Linux Rescue CD only showing his HD readable drive.

He using W7 Pro OS and please keep in mind I have no experience using W7 yet so please bare with me as I'm helping him on the problem, how do I get the Macrium Reflect free version when he created a Linux Rescue CD and how to I get it to read his usb WD My Passport at bootable Linux Rescue CD any ideas what went wrong o_O

Thank you.

2. tgell

tgell Registered Member

None of the solutions are really ideal. If he does not care about re-installing the OS, he could install Macrium Free on another computer and mount the image. Then transfer the required files to a external drive. Then reinstall the OS. Another option would be to purchase Macrium for $40 and then download the Rescue CD which is based on WinPE. That would have a much better chance of seeing the external hard drive. Option 3 would be to create a BARTPE disk using a XP install CD and then adding the Macrium Plug-in. You would then boot the BARTPE CD and run Macrium. One more thing. Windows 7 has a built in image backup solution that is just as good as Macrium Free.