HELP PLZ

Discussion in 'Ghost Security Suite (GSS)' started by emerald, Aug 21, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. emerald

emerald Registered Member

Hey everyone,

I am a fairly novice user to Windows XP Home Edition SP2. I just downloaded the beta 2.000 version of RegDefend and when I clicked on configure I gave it a quick look. Under Auto Start I noticed this, which seemed odd:

Key: HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows nt\Currentversion\Winlogon

Value: GinaDLL

So I quickly Googled it and found out that it's usually linked to malware. I ran Trend Micro's House Call which turned up nothing. I'm currently running NOD32, WinPatrol, ProcessGuard, and Zone Alarm Pro. Also have KAV, Ewido, and numerous spyware scanners on demand. They all turn up nothing. Port Explorer looks normal. I also have a fresh HijackThis log, which needs to be analyzed.

But what worries me is that lately I've got a few trojan/worm alerts from NOD32 when downloading files or browsing. Although they seemed to terminate the threat, I'm afraid that someting may have slipped into my registry before I installed Regdefend.

Also WinPatrol does not recognize Application Management (appmgmts.exe) as a Microsoft product, which is weird as it runs under svchost.exe.

Sometimes when I run Firewall Leak Tester it says that 'system appears to be infected by a virus because svchost is beyond normal memory usage'. This is true, but not always.

So I just want to make sure my registry and everything is fine so I can make a backup of it and then finish my protection by getting more powerful specific anti trojan/worm software.

Any help and/or suggestions would be greatly appreciated. :cool:

Let me rephrase my issue better, is GinaDLL supposed to show up? Should I just leave the rules as they are, at least until I get some more experience with the program and registry? Please fill me in on what/when/why to create rules. Thanks.

-Bob

Last edited: Aug 21, 2005
  2. Jason_R0