Help! Newbie with disk cloning questions....

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Todd Gill, Jan 27, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Todd Gill

Todd Gill Registered Member

Ok, I just bought Acronis True Image 8. I am new to this stuff, but from talking with a salesperson he says I can make a clone of a smaller drive (OS, Programs, files , etc) and then clone it onto a larger drive....and then adjust the partition so that the new larger drive makes full use of it's full capacity on a single partition. I guess you can drag the slider over on the new drive....

Well, I went through this procedure to see what it looks like and I canceled out just prior to "actually cloning" my main hard drive because I had a couple concerns/questions....here they are:

1.)I noticed that my "slave" hard drive which is the destination drive of the cloning process was assigned a drive letter of C: just before the cloning process...so I cancelled for fear that my "master" hard drive which I just set up with a new OS and all programs, preferences, etc, would lose it's definition as the C: drive or somehow have it's contents erased. I made sure that I selected the option to leave the main drives contents unchanged.

So, does the fact that the destination drive show a "C" during this process cause me any reason for concern? Should I just continue on and clone the "master" drive?

2.) Is it reliable to do a disk to disk clone right through windows? When I installed the program they had me make a rescue boot disk. What is that foro_O?

Some people have told me that the only reliable way to make a disk to disk clone is through a "boot disk"...but I have no idea of the process to do this or even if it's necessary.

I have Norton Ghost 9 and tried making a disk to disk copy and was successful through windows on one drive....but wasn't able to duplicate my results on another instance...as the drive wouldn't boot up.