Help me with setting up a backup protocol

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by diehardfan, Feb 20, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. diehardfan

diehardfan Registered Member

I have never used Acronis products before, so please go easy on me :( .

I need to backup 4 computers running windows XP, each computer has one physical hard drive partitioned into 2 drives, C: (60GB) and D: (170GB). C: contains system file and D: contains data files. I also have a file server on the network with about 750GB of space.

What I am thinking:

Create a 30GB Acronis Secure Zone on D:'s partition on each computer to create a full backup and then differential backup on both C: and D: separately. Differential backups will be taken care of by the "Scheduler Tasks" daily.

My concerns: I also want to backup the backup files in the Acronis Secure Zone onto the file server. Since I cannot access Acronis Secure Zone (none that I know) how can I copy the backup file and copy it onto the file server?

If you think I can set this up better please do recommend a different setup, I am open to different options.

Really appreciate your help and Thanks for reading.

2. beznsarah

beznsarah Registered Member

If you use workstation 9.1 you can install remote agents to manage all workstation from one location. You can also install the backup server component onto the fileserver so that every backup is automatically sent to the backup server.

I personally don't like the idea of using the Secure Zone because if the hard drives on the workstations crash then the backup to the local drive won't help you. I guess it depends on your situation if you need to frequently restore from backup for your situation it could make sense to have the secure zone in addition to the normal backup pointing to the backup server.

I've been playing with the workstation 9.1 and have not deployed it yet so hopefully someone else will give their opinion.

3. seekforever