HELP! How to get DSL, WI-FI, Internet

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by newhere123, Sep 3, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. newhere123

newhere123 Registered Member

Hi everybody! (Hi, Dr. Nick!)
    I'm new here, and I'm new to the subject matter I'm asking about, so please be as clear and simple as you can. (Thanks.) I have some questions about getting wireless Internet.

I want to get a wireless internet connection so all computers on my property can access it but am confused about a lot of things.

1. What kind of connection do I need? DSL? Does that project signals to the entire property? Or do I need to get some kind of wi-fi thing too? (Can I like also turn off the wi-fi at night?) What about cable? o_O

2. I have one computer that reads wi-fi signals (hp laptop) and one that doesn't (hp desktop). Is there something I can get for my desktop that will make it so it can read the signals?

3. What good broadband providers are there? I've seen things from ATT (dsl) and also from cox (cable). I found Sonic.net. Are they good? They seem like ATT except they don't make you buy all their other services. Am I right? Do they help with setting up the whole-property service and even from computers that don't currently read wi-fi?

Thanks so much!

2. WSFuser

WSFuser Registered Member

1. u can use any connection as long as it connects to ur wireless router.

u need a (wireless) router so that (all) your computers may use the one internet connection

2. u can buy a wireless adapter for the laptop. they can be of the pcmcia or usb variety.

3. i have sbc yahoo dsl, but i dont use wireless and i setup the connection myself.

3. newhere123