HDM 14 Pro and Bitlocker

Discussion in 'Paragon Drive Backup Product Line' started by Paul Nutt, Dec 15, 2013.

1. Paul Nutt

Paul Nutt Registered Member

Sorry, I haven't completely gone through the user guide and my question is simpler than the other Bitlocker question in this forum.

Nothing fancy here. I want to backup my work laptop which is Windows 7 x64 Enterprise and drive is encrypted with Bitlocker. I am a local admin so I can manage Bitlocker and have access to the keys.

Is it as simple as I install HDM 14 Pro, suspend Bitlocker, and backup with HDM in Windows? And if I have to restore, I assume I would suspend Bitlocker (if possible) and restore from the HDM recovery environment (if I had to restore the entire partition)?

Let me know if it's easier or harder than I make it seem. :) I've never managed Bitlocker and don't know how it affects backing up and restoring using a recovery environment. Obviously files are not an issue with a healthy Windows environment, but I want to be able to recover the entire partition if necessary.

I'm also thinking about swapping the HD for an SSD for performance and I've also never done a migration with Bitlocker.

Thx.

2. Robin A.

Robin A. Registered Member

The information available in the HDM 14 Pro User Manual seems simple and clear. To work with bitlocked partitions, it´s necessary to unlock them first.

3. Paul Nutt

I guess I'll wait until Monday to see if anyone has something besides a non-answer. But congrats on upping your post count by one.

Anyway... Here's the process someone ignorant like me goes through and why I must to come to a forum for assistance. It's obvious from my question I have no idea what I'm talking about.

• HDM User Manual says encrypted volumes must be "unlocked"
    • Windows 7 UI has "Turn on", "Suspend", and "Manage"
    • Windows 7 Help has "Turn off"
    • Google "unlocked" and end up with many articles on turning Bitlocker off