Has Malware Ever Disabled Your Security Software?

Discussion in 'polls' started by HKEY1952, Apr 2, 2012.

?

Has Malware Ever Disabled Your Security Software?

  1. YES

    25.4%
  2. NO

    74.6%
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Rampastein
    Offline

    Rampastein Registered Member

    Happened once in 2006, the directory and drivers of the security software got wiped out entirely. A couple of months later I found a dozen trojans and a rootkit from the machine and got interested about security. Haven't got infected since.
  2. Page42
    Offline

    Page42 Registered Member

    A few times I encountered installation and updating problems with various AVs*. It made me suspicious... made me wonder if malware might be the cause of it. But I blamed it on the software, then I blamed it on the software the 2nd time, then I discovered a MS Fixit tool that cured whatever was wrong. But it did seem coincidental that I couldn't update and/or install a security program.
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 6, 2012
  3. poison
    Offline

    poison Registered Member

    Not in the last couple of years since self-protection on most seems to do a decent job but yes malware has disabled my security software before. AV anyway.. I don't recall it ever disabling my 3rd party FW etc.
  4. jadinolf
    Offline

    jadinolf Registered Member

    Never happened to me.
  5. russland
    Offline

    russland Registered Member

    My setup has not been disabled to date, but I have encountered only A very few times when malware has tried to install on my systems. All instances were identified and stopped by my defence setup(so far so good).
  6. marc57
    Offline

    marc57 Registered Member

    Back about 8 years ago I had Malware *
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 10, 2012
  7. moontan
    Offline

    moontan Registered Member

    yes, although it's been a few years.

    i remember fixing a friend's computer *
    the malware had disabled the AV that was in their machine.
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 10, 2012
  8. noone_particular
    Offline

    noone_particular Registered Member

    In post #4, I said that it hadn't happened on my equipment. I'd forgotten about the early days when I used a conventional security suite, a combined AV, firewall, privacy protecting, popup blocking, everything plus the kitchen sink bloated mess. I was searching Google for sites about a subject that should have been no problems. The search led to a site that started opening tons of popups. They blew right thru the suites popup blocker. A few seconds later, the AV component crashed, followed by the rest of the suite. Shortly afterwards, the entire PC crashed. Upon reboot, the suites AV tells me I'm infected and it can't remove it.

    That big name security suite was the only security app I've ever purchased and it was removed a few months after I installed it.
  9. Cutting_Edgetech
    Offline

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Malware has never made it past my security setup that i'm aware of.
  10. trismegistos
    Offline

    trismegistos Registered Member

    For 5 years I have not been using some AV resident or real-time scanners, I never had malware disabled nor bypassed HIPS even with deliberate malware executions and leaktestings.

    But pre-HIPS, I have lots of AV bypasses and one time malware completely messed up the partition.
    Last edited: Apr 10, 2012
  11. lurker20
    Offline

    lurker20 Registered Member

    I had a chance to work on few machines as a tech and I noticed few malwares exploited im age file exequtions and had a huge list of security software process list. It successfully prevented running processes listed there.
  12. xxJackxx
    Offline

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Yes, absolutely.
  13. TonyW
    Offline

    TonyW Registered Member

    No. Hardly get any malware.
  14. d0t
    Offline

    d0t Registered Member

    Funny, I voted no and yesterday my sister called me saying she got a virus when she tried to download a movie.

    It was a fake AV, don't remember the name now but she couldn't run any exe file, because she would get a message "this file is infected". She had Avira free, but I couldn't open it 'cause of the same message.

    All I had to do was boot in safe mode and run Kaspersky Virus removal tool ehe
  15. HKEY1952
    Offline

    HKEY1952 Registered Member

    Thank You for your participation in this Poll:

    Has Malware Ever Disabled Your Security Software?

    It was interesting reading about all the different experiences with Malware.


    Regards,
    HKEY1952
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.