Has Malware Ever Disabled Your Security Software?

Discussion in 'polls' started by HKEY1952, Apr 2, 2012.

?

Has Malware Ever Disabled Your Security Software?

  1. YES

    25.4%
  2. NO

    74.6%
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. HKEY1952
    Offline

    HKEY1952 Registered Member

    Has Malware Ever Disabled Your Security Software?

    Please Vote: YES or NO

    Please do not Post the names of any security softwares or venders in replies to this Poll,
    You may however, elaborate on the circumstances surrounding the event

    Moderators: Please edit any Posts naming security softwares or vendors and remove those entries


    Thank You for your partisapation in this Poll


    EDIT: spelling/clarity


    HKEY1952
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2012
  2. Dark Shadow
    Offline

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    No never.Past security soft has missed the malware but never disabled it.Then again, I never been infected with anything that severe.
  3. Hungry Man
    Offline

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    I honestly can't remember. I haven't been infected in a long time.
  4. noone_particular
    Offline

    noone_particular Registered Member

    This hasn't happened on my equipment but I have seen PCs where the AV was disabled along with most of the utilities that would give you access to the registry, services etc. I couldn't tell exactly how up to date the AV was, but it wasn't very old.
  5. tipo
    Offline

    tipo Registered Member

    yes it did. conficker worm did it.
  6. Kerodo
    Online

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Nope, has never happened here....
  7. LoneWolf
    Offline

    LoneWolf Registered Member

    Disabled no, bypassed yes, but that was quite some time ago.
  8. popcorn
    Offline

    popcorn Registered Member

    A long time ago now....
    pretty sure it was confiker that shut down the OS's own AV...thanks Bill :blink:
  9. blacknight
    Offline

    blacknight Registered Member

    No, never happened.
  10. woomera
    Offline

    woomera Registered Member

    not personally, not that i remember anyway but have seen many of relatives and friends struggling with viruse's which disabled their AV's.
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 3, 2012
  11. narenbisht
    Offline

    narenbisht Registered Member

    No infection, no security software disabled from the time I have started using net & windows i.e past 10 years.

    I guess malware simply hate me & I love them for hating me:)
  12. crofty
    Offline

    crofty Registered Member

    No hasn't happened yet.
  13. TheWindBringeth
    Offline

    TheWindBringeth Registered Member

    I've never seen evidence that malware disabled my security software, but that doesn't mean it hasn't happened. Didn't vote, just commenting.
  14. safeguy
    Offline

    safeguy Registered Member

    A long time ago, when I was using a real-time AV. yes it missed a detection - but as to whether the malware 'disabled' or 'tampered' with that AV without me realizing it, I didn't know back then and so can't say for sure.
  15. puff-m-d
    Online

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Yes, many, many years ago (like 15 or 20) before I really knew what security was), so long ago that I do not remember the details...
  16. o1ofuis4u
    Offline

    o1ofuis4u Registered Member

    Yes, a few years ago, * got the virtumondo virus, which got by it and disabled everything. A real problem. Since then I have use a combination of freeware mostly to deal with anything I might get.
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 4, 2012
  17. AlexC
    Offline

    AlexC Registered Member

    No, but i see many times rogue security software installed side by side with AV's with real time protection turned on...
  18. general_zerohour
    Offline

    general_zerohour Guest

    Well I actually got a bootkit so it bypassed my security at the time *. I had no boot sector totally trashed. Luckily I had Acronis True Image and had the Acronis boot cd to get my PC fireup again.
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 4, 2012
  19. Noob
    Offline

    Noob Registered Member

    Not that i remember . . . :D
  20. The Hammer
    Offline

    The Hammer Registered Member

    No but I was once done in by a FP.
  21. EASTER
    Offline

    EASTER Registered Member

    Impossible.

    I mean yes, "check this", during my local malware testings routines i engage in, some of the "installed" security apps, were observed targeting and disabling commonly known brand security locally, and yet after the attack code completed of whatever malware i happen to be throwing into the works at the time was successful, (severe viruses excluded), i could always reach for various "Portable" security programs and render the forced malware disruptions down to bare minimums at the very least.

    Since i employ certain abandoned HIPS/Security* in tandem with current solutions, it proved disengaging my security way too far a reach to completely disable defenses completely. All this without a sandbox! No LUA either!

    To put in brief, the classic Layered Approach simply cannot be overcome provided proper safeguards of choice are strategically in place.

    What i have found is that the most sinister of all threats of malware that can create maximum damage is through clever sophistication of not disabling security but bypassing in a way that it finds a nich to execute some form of MBR/Partition Table destroyer. My current specialty ATM is allowing this form of destruction and trying to devise an alternate recovery method which doesn't have to rely on a backup image to return normal functionality back to it's original state.
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 6, 2012
  22. chrisretusn
    Offline

    chrisretusn Registered Member

    Nope. Have to catch a virus first, that has never happened.
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2012
  23. chris1341
    Offline

    chris1341 Registered Member

    Not personally but did have a spate of attacks brought to me from others that prevented * from running about a year or so ago. Renaming the * exe resolved it so hardly sophisticated....... not really disabling security software rather Malware self-defence I suppose :) .

    A relative got themselves a rogue that prevented a well known free product from starting earlier this year. Thereafter infection from real nasties took hold. They allowed a UAC prompt and answered yes to a reboot request and their PC was as good as gone. Fortunately the one bit of advice they actually listened to was have a good back-up ready.

    Cheers
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 5, 2012
  24. Daveski17
    Offline

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Not that I know of.
  25. ams963
    Offline

    ams963 Registered Member

    nope......I don't think any malware did that to any of the security software I've used......
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.