Gimp 2.8 released

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by moontan, May 8, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,929
    Location:
    Québec
    a few days ago.

    http://www.gimp.org/

    portable version here:
    http://portableapps.com/news/2012-05-07--gimp-portable-2.8.0-released

    the single window mode is very nice.
    much better than having 3-4 windows open all the times. :)
     
  2. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    7,068
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    Cool :cool: , one day I'll even figure out how to use it.
     
  3. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    16,539
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  4. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,929
    Location:
    Québec
    wow!
    that was fast, a Rev on the same day!

    tnx for the heads-up JR! :)
     
  5. Tyrizian

    Tyrizian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Posts:
    2,516
    Finally, a version of gimp that has the option to run in one window. Installing now.
     
  6. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,090
    Location:
    West Chester Pennsylvania.
    Comodo quarantined a tmp file from the newest version. W32.Fraudpack.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: May 8, 2012
  7. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,929
    Location:
    Québec
    this file is not present in the Portable version.
    did you get your copy from Gimp.org?
     
  8. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,929
    Location:
    Québec
    edit, i just installed the full version from gimp.org

    that virus is not there.
    where exactly did you get your copy? o_O
     
  9. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,090
    Location:
    West Chester Pennsylvania.
    Gimp.org and it took me to sourceforge.
     
  10. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,929
    Location:
    Québec
    i checked again.

    it's not there.

    i don't even have a folder inside GIMP called "32". o_O
    --------------------------
    edit:
    scanned with HMP.
    nothing found...
     
    Last edited: May 8, 2012
  11. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,090
    Location:
    West Chester Pennsylvania.
    Odd. I can't find GIMP in my add remove now. 0_o
     
  12. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,090
    Location:
    West Chester Pennsylvania.
    Here is the details for the file I got from the main site after it took me to sourceforge.
     

    Attached Files:

  13. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,929
    Location:
    Québec
    hmmm,

    it's time to restore an image maybe? ;)
     
  14. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,090
    Location:
    West Chester Pennsylvania.
    Unfortunately I don't have one atm. System restore isn't working since the file it needs is in Comodo's quarantine. What should I do? I thought I could trust getting the file from THE MAIN SITE!!!!!
     
  15. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,929
    Location:
    Québec
    well, let's not jump to conclusions.

    you could have been infected from another source.

    of course, it is always possible the file was infected when you downloaded it from Sourceforge.
    unlikely but not impossible.
    stranger things have happened.

    i assume you manually checked the folder itself to confirm those files are really there and not just a burp from your AV.

    if those files are still there, manually delete them then run scans with your AV as well as HMP and MBAM.
     
  16. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,090
    Location:
    West Chester Pennsylvania.
    Did a system restore and got back to before it got installed. Everything is fine now. :) Had to delete the file from my quarantine.
     
  17. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,929
    Location:
    Québec
    well, at least you're back to square 1! :D
     
  18. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,090
    Location:
    West Chester Pennsylvania.
    Not using Gimp again. Sticking with Paint.net
     
  19. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,929
    Location:
    Québec
    why?
    just because of that?

    if you indeed got an infected file from Sourceforge, i would expect you not to download anything ever again from them.

    just for consistency's sake. :p
     
  20. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,090
    Location:
    West Chester Pennsylvania.
    Ok I would install everything first in sandboxie to be on the safe side.
     
  21. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,929
    Location:
    Québec
    sounds like a good plan! :thumb:

    can you scan the sandbox with an AV?
     
  22. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,090
    Location:
    West Chester Pennsylvania.
    I believe so. Don't see why not. Or at least the virus would be caught in the sandbox when its installing. Doing a full system scan now. To be on the safe side. Then deleting system restores since I had an infection and making a fresh batch.
     
  23. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,929
    Location:
    Québec
    it would be nice if you could scan the sandbox with AV programs.

    then you'd know for sure before you could decide to install the program to the system proper.
     
  24. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,090
    Location:
    West Chester Pennsylvania.
    I do know that my AV can detect malware in the sandbox. You can see it in my log I posted :)
     
  25. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,929
    Location:
    Québec

    right.

    my bad.
    i don't pay attention enough sometimes.lol

    seems like a very good setup. :thumb:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.