Getting a bit tired of SeaMonkey, looking for privacy friendly and secure browser

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Fly, Feb 7, 2016.

1. Fly

Fly Registered Member

This is for a Windows 7 system.

What's not to like about Seamonkey ? Maybe it's the GUI/the way it works. By now I have some experience with Firefox on Windows XP. User-friendly and convenient layout, sure. But not exactly ideal from a privacy perspective. Even if you tame it a bit, there are privacy issues. A simple example of that is that it seems to remember stuff even if you configure it not to remember login data.

I really don't want a Google/Chromium product/clone. IE is pre-installed anyway, Seamonkey uses the Mozilla engine.
    Preferably I wouldn't want a 'suite' product like Firefox. Personally, I don't like frequent updates AND having to check the privacy/security settings of new versions ...

Maybe I ask for too much. Just simple, safe, effective, secure, robust ... The good old days ...

Also, I have never used an ad blocker on any of my own systems. For that, a modified HOSTS file seemed to work quite adequately. And as it has turned out, some (Ghostery?) ad blockers do some tracking of their own.
    But maybe it is time to install one. Any recommendation to block ads and other unwanted 'stuff' ?

This is for a desktop, btw.

2. Amanda

Amanda Registered Member

It's not too much to ask :)

Have you considered the Tor Browser Bundle?

3. Joxx

Joxx Registered Member

That has Palemoon written all over

4. Brummelchen

Brummelchen Registered Member

he asked for a secure browser, not TOR or palemoon. :p

while testing chromium forkes i will stick to opera (chromium based) because real portable, not bound to any google account like chrome, vivaldi and others.

"secure" is relativ. i need to trust a browser in several ways, reliable at first, must be stable and fit my needs.
    why not? any special reason against?