Geswall + Sandboxie + Returnil

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Gargoyle, Dec 23, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Gargoyle

Gargoyle Registered Member

As I'm still learning about HIPS, I am thinking about using all three programs for things I download from the internet that I'm not sure aren't filled with malware. Has anyone tried running all three programs together? If so, any problems such as BSOD? And, would you say the setup is redundant?

2. LoneWolf

LoneWolf Registered Member

I run GeSWall at all times (one of my main pieces of security software at this time)
    I fire up SandBoxie when I know i'm going into possible dangerous territory.
    But in order to do this without getting this error from SandBoxie I change the security setting in GeSWall to low,start SandBoxie then change the setting in GeSWall back to medium. Now I have a sandbox with all contents under the policy restrictions of GeSWall as well as my other security layers in place.
    Not sure about Returnil as I have never tried this app.

Attached Files:

3. Gargoyle

It seems you are running Sandboxie inside Geswall. Have you tried running Geswall inside Sandboxie and see how it goes? Like, download something using your favorite Geswalled web browser. Then run sandboxie on the application after it has the isolated icon. That method, Geswall inside Sandboxie, is what I intend to do.

4. ErikAlbert

ErikAlbert Registered Member

Returnil will save you from the many BSOD's on your computer, if you read this :
    http://www.returnilvirtualsystem.com/index_files/rvspersonal.htm

Except for testing new softwares that require a reboot during installation.
    In that case, you will need your Image Backup/Restore software, if something goes wrong.
    If nothing goes wrong, but you don't like the software, you can't uninstall it with Returnil, then you have to uninstall it with the classical tools or restore an image.