Fuill and incremental images

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by terrywc, Jun 14, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. terrywc

terrywc Registered Member

This is probably a novice question, but, well, I am a novice to this program. If I were to have a full backup and three incremental backups of this full backup and if I then wanted to restore one folder to my hard drive, would I have to restore the full backup first, unplug the virtual drives, then recreated the virtual drives and then install each of the incrementals sequentially? The way true image seems to operate, installing the incrementals separately seems unnecessary. It would seem that all I would have to do is go to the last incremental and drop and drag the folder in question over to my hard drive and by so doing, Acronis would copy over that folder starting from the full backup and including all subsequent incrementals. Is this the correct way to think of this?

Thanks in advance.

W. Clinton Terry

2. bobat

bobat Registered Member

That's correct. If you want to restore a folder (or file) from a particular date, just mount the image corresponding to that date.

3. Acronis Support

Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

Hello terrywc,

Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

To restore a single folder or file you need to choose "Explore Image" tool and indicate any incremental image or full. Yuo will be presented with the list of possible dates and you need to choose the one you want to browse. Once the image is plugged you will get a virtual drive which you can browse with Windows Explorer and copy any file from it.

Thank you.
    --
    Ilya Toytman

4. MiniMax

MiniMax Registered Member

In theory, that is... In reality you better wait for an updated build of True Image where this very feature have been fixed :blink:

5. terrywc