Free Norton Antivirus 2012 Genuine 6 Months

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by ams963, Apr 28, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. SpeedyPC

    SpeedyPC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Posts:
    100
    Location:
    The Land of OZ
    I'm fully aware Norton Antivirus 2012 starting to smell like a toilet paper after being used, and I've decided no to touch it any way and thank you for reminding us to wash our hands after using the toilet:p ;) :rolleyes:
     
  2. get_it

    get_it Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Posts:
    99
    And when a virus disables the infected victims internet connection, Norton's backbone aka Sonar, is unable to contact the cloud and what remains is a pro-active detection rate of <45% as shown in the retrospective AVC tests.
     
  3. Montmorency

    Montmorency Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    Posts:
    181
    Browse inside Sandboxie and stop worrying.
     
    Last edited: May 1, 2012
  4. malexous

    malexous Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Posts:
    787
    Location:
    Ireland
    In that situation, how is a better pro-active detection rate of much use?
     
  5. Narxis

    Narxis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Posts:
    477
    That won't happen when Norton guards your system.
     
  6. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,955
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    exactly :thumb:
     
  7. Brocke

    Brocke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Posts:
    2,057
    Location:
    USA,IA
    i just uninstalled norton and my god dont even install it. the normal uninstaller took about 40mins and just hung. i just turned off my computer reboot in safe mode with networking to download the removel tool and that worked.

    but my god what a POS. lol
     
  8. Dundertaker

    Dundertaker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Posts:
    385
    Location:
    Land of the Mer Lion
    Thanks there! I will remember that!
     
  9. King Grub

    King Grub Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Posts:
    814
    Something wrong on your end then. Thats not what usually happens.
     
  10. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    8,953
    I havent had any problems uninstalling the recent versions of norton.
     
  11. zorro zorrito

    zorro zorrito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Posts:
    127
    Humm, I uninstalled Norton, it failed today because "the updater had a problem" and the AV was dead in that moment!!!, I uninstalled runing the install program and it did it very fine, no problem to do that. Now I am goint to try Dr. Web, one of my favorites.:D
     
  12. Montmorency

    Montmorency Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    Posts:
    181
    For those who decided to give Norton a go remember one thing:
    The link ams963 kindly provided is outdated. It will install NAV 2012, it will update the signatures, but it won't upgrade to the latest product version (19.7.0.9).
    You will have to manually run LiveUpdate; it will ask you for a reboot. After that check the version and you should be fine.
     
  13. ViVek

    ViVek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Posts:
    535
    Location:
    Moon
    nice offer :thumb:
     
  14. JoeBlack40

    JoeBlack40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,558
    Location:
    Romania
    Installed today a 90 days NIS trial and followed your advice,thank you.
     
  15. Nevis

    Nevis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Posts:
    740
    Location:
    255.255.255.255
    There is a problem or conflict in your PC.
    I find Norton Installer as the BEST. no other installer come even close to it. It install in seconds and same goes for uninstallation. Even Norton haters like its one click installation.
     
  16. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,955
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    +1 :thumb:.....though I think the statement 'no other installer come even close to it' is greatly exaggerated.......
     
  17. phyniks

    phyniks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    Posts:
    253
    I installed,and then came bask to avast
    I know it s a great product but avast(mse instead) is enough for me
    i did not like its huge updates,ram usage
    thanks again for the offer
     
  18. King Grub

    King Grub Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Posts:
    814
    If you think Norton uses a lot of RAM, how much is a low RAM usage for you?
     
  19. Montmorency

    Montmorency Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    Posts:
    181
    It uses an average of 20 MBs with two processes. One of the lowest in the industry.
    CPU usage is negligible.
    Updates are frequent but not noticeable.

    All in all, recomendable.
     
  20. Nevis

    Nevis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Posts:
    740
    Location:
    255.255.255.255
    I should have added IMO :p
    Actually, norton installed and uninstalled in seconds and I did not find this on any other installer.

    However, I also like eset and kaspersky simple installation.
    Also, worst installation I came across is McAfee which took very long and crashed once and same goes for F-Secure.
     
  21. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,955
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    I'm not gonna post a A vs B thing here but I'm sure you did not try Webroot 2012 product range. You definitely would have had a different experience and verdict.

    Nevertheless, Norton is one of the smoothest products.
     
  22. taleblou

    taleblou Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Posts:
    1,016
    I am staying away from norton security products and I suggest for the security wise people to do the same. Because I have found out that norton creates a hidden remote connection without your approval for who knows what and compermises your security. I tried to denied it or disable remote connections but norton will not allow it. I do not like security or programs that that use remote connections to send user data or what ever to who knows where. Another program I found that does the same thing is "Rollback RX".
     
  23. King Grub

    King Grub Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Posts:
    814
    Foil hat on? Check.
     
    Last edited: May 6, 2012
  24. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,955
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    Yeah right. :rolleyes:
     
  25. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,955
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    I'm sure many people "found out" this long before you did. And it would have been havoc on Earth by now. So no worries.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.