Foxit Reader 5.3.0.0423

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by zfactor, May 3, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    5,862
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    Foxit Reader is a free PDF document viewer and printer, with incredible small size, breezing-fast launch speed and amazingly rich feature set. In the past, you have to download a huge PDF Reader from another software company, go through a lengthy installation process and wait for an annoying splash window to disappear just to open a PDF document. Moreover, if you want to annotate a PDF document, you have to pay US$299 to buy that certain PDF software.

    msi installer without the toolbars from here:

    http://cdn04.foxitsoftware.com/pub/foxit/reader/desktop/win/5.x/5.3/enu/FoxitReader530.0423_enu.msi
     
  2. abu shofwan

    abu shofwan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Posts:
    358
    Location:
    Earth
    updated :D
     
    Last edited: May 3, 2012
  3. allizomeniz

    allizomeniz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Posts:
    828
    Can anyone point me to an up-to-date history of changes for this program. I can't find one anywhere. Maybe it's hiding in plain site. :D

    Appreciate it.
     
  4. abu shofwan

    abu shofwan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Posts:
    358
    Location:
    Earth
    Check it http://filehippo.com/download_foxit/

    You'll find old version and changelog :D

    FYI,change logs detail:
     
    Last edited: May 3, 2012
  5. allizomeniz

    allizomeniz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Posts:
    828
    Ah, thank you very much. I checked FH yesterday but the new version wasn't up. Should've just waited a day. :)
     
  6. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,095
    Location:
    West Chester Pennsylvania.
    Does it still come with the ASK toolbar? Bleh
     
  7. DBone

    DBone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Posts:
    1,015
    Location:
    SoCal USA

    Yea, you just have to read and click the mouse
     
  8. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    5,862
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    not if you use the link i posted its the msi installer NO TOOLBAR in that installer
     
  9. TheWindBringeth

    TheWindBringeth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Posts:
    1,585
    That doesn't always prevent toolbar and toolbar manufacturer related code from running. Some toolbars have been, and may still be, designed and bundled into the installer in such a way that their software runs, gathers some info, passes it to the toolbar manufacturer website, and fetches updated software from there all before you even SEE the option to opt-out of the install of the toolbar. So I'd recommend that people always look for the no-toolbar download option (and of course, if the software is worth it send the developer a donation).
     
  10. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    16,908
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  11. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    5,184
    Location:
    England
    When I installed Foxit from the link in the first post of this thread I had to deny an internet connection.

    This is the info shown in OA programs about it (I guess the info is what OA was able to pick up from the installer)

    Does MS count MS installers? Or was this through Foxit?
     

    Attached Files:

    • oa2.JPG
      oa2.JPG
      File size:
      86.9 KB
      Views:
      4
    • oa1.JPG
      oa1.JPG
      File size:
      259.3 KB
      Views:
      27
  12. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    16,908
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  13. TheWindBringeth

    TheWindBringeth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Posts:
    1,585
    There are some google hits for "CountInstalltion Microsoft". Note the spelling of that and the absence of a Company name. Is the temp file still around so that you can scan it with some tools? FWIW, one of the recent comments mentioned that upon install of Foxit Reader such a file triggered an MBAM Trojan.Agent quarantine but not an Avast alert.
     
  14. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    5,862
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    it triggered eset as well but not a trojan it was a firewall message, im not seeing this same thing you are not sure why..
     
    Last edited: May 7, 2012
  15. majoMo

    majoMo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Posts:
    907
    It seems through Foxit; they want to count their Reader'installations...
    VirusTotal Detection ratio: 0/42
    Code:
    Product: 	CountInstalltion ????
    Company: 	(Empty Value)
    Description: 	CountInstalltion Microsoft ???????
    Version: 	1.0.0.1
    MD5: 	8C8C855886CED8C4FB072CD1F486D849
    SHA1:	B15134D4ECBDB9B30E6C011B6130B9DC5A39E4FD
    SHA256:	12BCCE27337F1F64C2241914B8B708801AAF80879A6B8ED474D911B57C9595A4
    Size: 	65536
    
    Info: Malwarebytes-Avast
     
  16. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    5,862
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    where did you find the file i do not see it installed anywhere on my system??
     
  17. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    5,184
    Location:
    England

    On my XP machine it is in C:\docs and settings\username\localsettings\temp\MSI20B temp

    If you've used something like ccleaner since Foxit install it could be gone now.


    @MojoMo

    Thanks for the info. As I blocked the callout through OA firewall Foxit will think they have one install less :)
     
  18. BILL G

    BILL G Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Posts:
    80
    Location:
    MN USA
    / I Installed the New VER. PG Alerted + Blocked MS Counter.
     
  19. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    5,862
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    im not showing it in eset firewall at all and i know eset blocked something after install so i would assume eset blocked it from being installed..and i dont have the file at all either

    i did not run anything after install and do not see it. i uninstalled it .. reinstalled it saw the pop up from eset and see nothing running and no file from foxit? i used the msi installer which is everyone here using i ONLY run the msi installer without the toolbar included..
     
    Last edited: May 8, 2012
  20. majoMo

    majoMo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Posts:
    907
    Through using SandboxIE, install sandboxed tracked by SandboxDiff.
     
  21. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    16,908
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  22. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    16,908
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  23. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    5,862
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    update to version5.3.1.0606

    What's New in Foxit Reader 5.3.1

    The following are improvements to Foxit Reader 5.3.1

    Fixed an issue where some PDFs could not be opened because of a problem with the "loading font" process.
    Fixed an issue with using Hotmail accounts after installing Foxit Reader.
    Fixed an issue where the Foxit Reader plug-in cannot be loaded in Opera and will cause other plug-ins to fail to load.
    Fixed an issue caused by using track point to scroll PDFs on ThinkPads®.
    Fixed an issue where the cursor cannot be moved to the beginning of PDF content when using the short-cut key "Ctrl + Left".


    WITHOUT TOOLBARS this is the msi installer:

    http://cdn01.foxitsoftware.com/pub/foxit/reader/desktop/win/5.x/5.3/enu/FoxitReader531.0606_enu.msi
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.