forum

Discussion in 'other security issues & news' started by yabbseq, Jan 17, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. yabbseq

yabbseq Guest

hi, i was just wondering, if i log onto any forum [not this one of course :)], is it possible for that forum to infect me and remotely access my computer or snoop on me? i'm paranoid, so i want to know if the chances are totally zero. i have not downloaded any files from the forum at all, but is it possible that there is some embedded activex control or some malicious script? i'm running zonealarm at the moment, but i don't know if that will protect me against those types of attacks that are in webpages as i'm a newbie at this stuff. thanks :)

2. bigc73542

bigc73542 Retired Moderator

have a look at the link it will explain how a webpage can infect your machine I don't know if a forum is going to do this but it wouldn't be that hard with the right tools.

http://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=19784

3. LowWaterMark

LowWaterMark Administrator

The amount of access any website has to your system (and online forums like this are really still just a type of website) depends entirely upon how you access it.

It comes down to the browser used, it's security settings and trust level granted to that site in question, and of course the potential for exploits within that browser.

Often when people like (and trust) a website or forum they put the site name into their trusted zone. I do that myself but I'm careful what sites I do trust. Now for this YaBB SE forum, adding the site to the IE trusted sites list is actually overkill. It is more access than is really needed.