Firewall with Country Block

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by chromex86, Jun 24, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. chromex86

chromex86 Registered Member

Hello,

I'm new to WS forums so first Hello I'm Alex :).
    Getting to the point... I recently got an INTEL NUC and decided to transform it into a webserver. I've installed Windows 8.1 to it , Apahce, MySQL, PHP and Windows SSH fro Bitvise. No the issues...I've noticed that many IPs from China are constantly trying to login to my SSH server on Port 22 , it's like 5-10 different IPs per hour all from China. Does anyone know how to block la incoming traffic to my little NUC that comes from China?

Many thanks for reading this!

2. MrBrian

MrBrian Registered Member

3. Sm3K3R

Sm3K3R Registered Member

If the firewall is ON whats the problem.
    Log in attempts happen from many countries.I am seeing China ,but also Russia and USA ,or Netherlands and Baltic states.As long as the firewall works it s ok.
    No real need to block huge amount of IP ranges and loose performance.
    If some one really wants to get in deliberately it may find a way.

4. Cutting_Edgetech

Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

Online Armor has block by country. You could give it a try, and see if you like it. Just backup your machine before installing it in case you have any problems.

5. Cutting_Edgetech

Disregard my last post. Online Armor is not compatible with Windows 8.1

6. Enigm

Enigm Registered Member

Basically, you need to create firewall-rules that block all Chinese IP-ranges .
    Or you can use IP-blocker software like 'PeerBlock' .
    There are lists of all known Chinese-assigned IP-ranges available on the net, fex here :
    https://www.iblocklist.com/lists.php?category=country

A few commercial firewalls support such lists directly, 'Outpost Pro' being one of them .
    But with most commercial windows-firewalls you will have to create the rules manually,