Firewall for my needs

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by jsoth, Nov 26, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jsoth

jsoth Registered Member

Hey all, I have done tons of research on what security to use on a new laptop I am getting, but for the inexperienced (me) it can be overwhelming. I am a quick learner and good with technology but when it comes right down to it I don't know what firewall to choose. I want to stay the free option for all my security needs as I am a safe surfer. As of now I plan to use:

AntiVir PE classic
    Spybot S&D
    Adaware SE

Which firewall should I choose that I can pretty much not have to bother with much. I have found posts on Comodo, Kerio 2.15, Jetico, and Zonealarm that seem to top peoples lists. Please tell me which one to go with and why! Remember I am not experienced with firewalls.

2. acr1965

acr1965 Registered Member

I have tried all four of those firewalls. With Kerio I got the BSOD. Jetico was good but very busy with pop up warnings. Although the warnings settled down tremendously after about a week. Zone Alarm I liked. But it has not done well recently in security tests. I am currently using Comodo and it has been my favorite by far. It can be a bit busy with pop ups in the beginning. But the Comodo forum is a great resource for answers to any issues with the firewall.

3. jsoth

jsoth Registered Member

Do I definitely need something more than the SP2 firewall?

4. Pedro

Pedro Registered Member

If you want tighter rules, and outbound control, yes. It depends on what else you plan to add.:blink:

5. Stem

Stem Firewall Expert

Hi jsoth, Welcome to Wilders
    I personally would say "Yes", really due to your ability to control applications access to the internet from your PC.