Feedback on my security setup?

Discussion in 'privacy technology' started by rockyroad, Feb 5, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rockyroad

rockyroad Registered Member

Hi guys, first post here.

You could say I'm on a mission to make my internet usage as secure and private as possible, call me paranoid but I think it's a wise decision in today's climate. I started thinking about online privacy just about a year ago so bear with me, I'm new to all of this.

My setup:

Level 0 (least secure)

• Google Chrome in incognito mode with a few extensions

- AdBlock Plus
      - Disconnect
      - HTTPS Everywhere

Level 1

• Comodo Dragon in virtual mode with a few extensions

- AdBlock Plus
      - Comodo Web Inspector
      - Disconnect
      - PrivDog

Level 2 (most secure)

• Tails Live USB

I also use CCleaner on a daily basis, and wipe sensitive information with Eraser. Regardless of the level I'm using, all IP traffic is routed via my router to a remote VPN server that I trust. DNS leak tests confirm that all DNS requests go through the VPN.

Besides adding an OpenVPN client, I've left my OpenWRT router untouched so I'm hoping the default firewall rules that are already in place are doing their part. I reckon I shouldn't be tinkering with things I don't know much about. Although if by any chance anyone here has OpenWRT experience, feel free. I've had limited success over at the official forums.

Is there anything else I should be looking at? Is my Level 2 secure enough on its own? I've heard people mentioning Whonix, virtual machines and air gaps but that's where they lose me.

I'm also thinking about purchasing a second machine, a laptop, could this be put to use somehow?

Would really appreciate any advice. Thanks!

Last edited: Feb 6, 2014
  2. 1PW

1PW Registered Member

Rational paranoia is certainly not a bad thing.